Ulster Cycling News

Evans Wins Phoenix GP

Tommy Evans guesting for Total Cycling soloed home today to win the Phoenix Grand Prix at Nutts Corner which attracted the biggest Northern field of the season so far with 105 entries.
The field was split into four groups with the Over 50 vets and 1st year Junior receiving a 6 minute advantage on the scratch men. It was insufficient, however, with the whole race coming together at the half way stage. On the second last lap a group of 11 got away.

Evans left the group in the closing miles to finish 28 seconds ahead of Paul Kane.… Read more


Ward Wins Ards

Twenty one year old Matthew Ward of Phoenix CC scored his biggest success to date when he won the won the prestigious Tour of Ards outsprinting Brendan Doherty (Total Cycling-Lindsay Ford) at the finish.

Ward and Doherty were part of a seven man breakaway which left the main bunch of 78 at Bangor the other 5 being Roger Aiken (Banbridge), Gary Cranston (East Antrim - Audi) , Ross Blayney (Ards CC), Brian Stewart (Northern - Dave Kane) and Denis Eason (Total Cycling - Lindsay Ford).

By Ballywalter the breakaway had built up a lead of 1-23 and extended this to1-45 at Portaferry..… Read more


Cycling Ulster-Dave Kane Cycles TT Results

The presentation for the 2002 Dave Kane Cycles TT league and the Veterans Association will take place at the 10 TT at Glenavy next Thursday evening. The Ballyclare resuts were as follows:
Ballyclare 10 3rd April 2003

Gary Cranston East Antrim 21.54
Tony McConville Apollo 22.17
Ian Proctor Mattest-Castlereagh 22.26
Colum Barry Banbridge 22.33
Henrik Nowack Navan 22.47
Jim McConnell East Antrim 22.48
Martin Birney Maryland 23.29
Mel McCann Team Madigan 23.31
Brendan McCourt Phoenix 23.38
Richard Maxwell Orchard Wheelers 23.42
Wayne Morrow East Antrim 24.07
Brendan Ellis Phoenix 24.12
Vincent Tubridy Slane Cycles 24.14
Simon Devlin U/A 24.14
Stephen McDonald Phoenix 24.15
John Whitby Phoenix 24.31
Colin McCluskey Madigan 24.37
Donal Cormican Phoenix 24.43
Michael Rogers Banbridge 24.53
Adrian Kerr Ballymena R.C.… Read more


Tour of Mallorca

Tour of Mallorca report is currently being carried on our international page.… Read more


Coaching NI

Places are still available for the Coaching NI cycling workshop at the Cycling Ulster Centre of Excellence at Craigavon Watersports Centre on Monday 14th April. There is no cost to those who take part.
Details from Cycling Ulsters Development Officer Barry Monaghan at 38 316814 or 07747 605029… Read more


Tour of Mallorca team

Cycling Ulsters first international team of the year flew out yesterday from Belfast to take part in the Tour of Mallorca 5 day event. The team consists of Brendan Docherty, Gary Crory, Philip Deignan, Roger Aiken, Stephen Gallagher and Conor Murphy.
The international event which starts on Wednesday comprises of a prologue time trial and 4 road stages. The race takes in all the major climbs on the holiday island including the Soller, Puig Mayor and a savage finish atop the 5k monastery climb. Frank Campbell, the team manager for the race expressed strong hope of good results from the team in the event which finishes with a circuit race around the streets of Palma.… Read more


Lottery Funding

Cycling Ulster treasurer Oliver Hunter urgently requests all those receiving lottery funding to contact him with their address.
If he is unavailable a message may be left on his answerphone.
The treasurer needs these details otherwise lottery payment will be delayed.… Read more


Clann Eireann Promotes Underage Racing

The Underage cyclists also got their chance to taste the action at Bartins Bay today with riders from as young as 8 years of age to 16 being treated to a full Underage programme. The Under 16's completed 5 laps, the Under 14's 3 while the Under 12's gave it their all for a single lap.
In the Under 16 event Adam Petrie- Armstrong (Northern-Dave Kane) came in alone ahead of Brian Henning (Newry), Michael Murray (Clann Eireann) and Simon Williams (Orchard Wheelers).

The host club had success in the Under 14 race when Thomas Martin (Clann Eireann) won a 3-up sprint against Emyvale duo James Kane and Barry Hughes

Peter Williams (Orchard Wheelers) won the Under 12 race from Rory Brennan (Clann Eireann) with Fintona pair Caolan Loughran and Tiernan Devlin finishing 3rd and 4th.… Read more


Kirk Takes Aghagallon Cup

Clann Eireann are to be congratulated on their excellent promotion today at Bartins Bay on the shore of Lough Neagh. Not only did the Aghagallon Cup Race attract 80 plus entries but the promoters also put on a full programme of Underage Racing giving the Cycling Ulster up and coming racers the chance to compete against their peers,

Once again the handicappers got it right placing a six and a half minute gap between the two bunches. It kept the race, which was held over 17 laps of the 3 mile circuit, fast and furious.… Read more


Hawkins Triumph at Bangor

The handicappers judged it to perfection at todays Spring H.C. Road Race promoted by VC Bangor over the Bangor, Donaghadee circuit. Despite the fact that the Des Hanlon Classic takes place tomorrow, the Bangor race attacted 78 riders with the three bunches separated by seven and a half minutes. It looked for quite a while that the scratch men would not get up and were still almost 2 minutes in arrears going into the final lap. However, some furious riding saw the 1st cat bunch making contact at the final roundabout before the uphill sprint finish.… Read more

Page 682 of 685« First...102030...680681682683684...Last »