Ulster Cycling News

New ’10’ Mile TT Champions Crowned at Woodgreen

In far from ideal conditions over ninety riders signed on at Woodgreen this morning for the Ulster 10 mile TT Champsionships. A number of mishaps and technicals reduced the final finishers to eighty two. With David McCann of Giant Kenda out with illness, Clann Eireann's John Heverin was the favourite to lift the senior title and he did not disappoint the punters, coming home to take gold in a time of 20.30.

However John Madden of Curran Racing pushed him all the way and only lost out to the top position by 3 seconds but it was enough give him Gold in the Vets competition and silver in the senior. Surprise of the day was when Cormac McCann (Jnr) lined out at his first open competition in nearly 20 years. He further amazed the spectators by recording a PB of 20.38 which was enough to guarantee him bronze in the Senior men's champsionship and silver in the Vets competition. Ivan Robinson of Ards CC took the final medal in the Vets competition with a time of 21.03 beating renowned tester, Mark Greer, of Maryland Wheelers by one second.

The Senior women's competition saw Lakeland's Ciara Horne take top position with a time of 22.55 with Mary Hunter of Dromara CC taking silver and Rachael Withers of VC St. Raphael moving into bronze medal position. The Junior women's title was claimed by Claire Oakley of WXC MTB UK with a 26.20.

The Junior Men's competition was a battle between Matthew Heaney (Apollo CT), Daniel Stewart (Ards CC) Kyle Cole of Roevalley and Stephen Carruthers of Ballymena. With a 21.49 Heaney took the title ahead of Daniel Stewart at 22.08 with Cole a further minute behind. Heaney's time once again put him into the top ten overall.

Blaine Cole of Roe Valley followed in his brother's footsteps when he claimed the U16 Boys Martin Birney trophy which Kyle had won the previous year. Clubmate Laura Maxwell was presented with the Martin Birney Trophy for U16 Girls.

Tandem honours went to Gary McKeegan and Colin McCluskey of Team Madigan for the second year in a row.

Twelve full teams signed on today with nine teams finishing with three riders or more. The overall team prize was another consecutive victory, this time for Phoenix CC with a collective time of 1:05:06. East Tyrone beat East Antrim by 34 seconds to take silver in the competition.

Many thanks are due to Billy Smyth and Gordon Parker as Timekeepers, Jim Burns (Ballymena) as turn stewart, Joan McCullough (Ballymena RC) - First Aid and Results Board, Mark McCullough (Ballymena RC) as spotter and assistant time keeper and Paul Cole who helped push off. Eamon Burns of Phoenix CC was invaluable in providing all the warning signs and in calling the riders. We very much appreciate the help Eamon has given to the league throughout the season. Also lots of thanks to Martin Lees for organising the provision of portaloos.

Tommy Burns of SportActive was on hand to present the Martin Birney Trophies to John Heverin, John Madden, Ciara Horne, Matthew Heaney, Claire Oakley, Laura Maxwell and Blaine Cole. These will now be engraved and presented along with the Championship medals at the Cycling Ulster Awards night later in the year. We are grateful to Martin Birney of SportActive for providing the time trial cups.



Report Marian Lamb
Pics Chris Sharp Roe Valley

Ulster Senior Men's Championship
Gold - John Heverin Clann √Čireann CC 20:30
Silver - John Madden Curran Racing 20:33
Bronze - Cormac McCann Jnr Phoenix CC 20:58

Ulster Veteran Men's Championship
Gold - John Madden Curran Racing 20:33
Silver - Cormac McCann Jnr Phoenix CC 20:58
Bronze - Ivan Robinson Ards CC 21.03

Ulster Junior Men's Championship
Gold - Matthew Heaney Apollo CT 21:49
Silver - Daniel Stewart Ards CC 22:08
Bronze - Kyle Cole Roe Valley CC 23:08

Ulster Women's Championship
Gold - Ciara Horne 22:55
Silver - Mary Hunter 24:52
Bronze - Rachael Withers 25:00

Ulster Junior Women's Championship
Gold - Claire Oakley WXC MTB UK 26:20

Ulster Tandem Championship
Gary McKeegan/Colin McCluskey Team Madigan 23:33

Ulster Team Championship
Gold Phoenix CC 01:05:06
Cormac McCann Jnr 20:58
Jay Gault 21:57
Mark Brown 22:11

Silver East Tyrone 01:05:32
Robert Stewart East Tyrone CC 21:25
David Heagney East Tyrone CC 22:00
Gary Jeffers East Tyrone CC 22:07

Bronze East Antrim 01:05:54
William Larmour 21:47
Jim McConnell 21:58
Jonathan Dempsey 22:09

4 Ards 01:05:56
5 Dromara CC 01:07:52
6 Roe Valley 01:08:19
7 Apollo 01:08:27
8 Madigan 01:09:00
9 Ballymena 01:13:04

Full Results can be viewed on the TT link on the left.

Top Ten Overall '10' TT Woodgreen
John Heverin Clann √Čireann CC 20:30
John Madden Curran Racing 20:33
Cormac McCann Jnr Phoenix CC 20:58
Ivan Robinson Ards CC 21:03
Mark Greer Maryland Wheelers 21:04
Robert Stewart East Tyrone CC 21:25
Gerry McCabe Cuchullain CC 21:26
William Larmour East Antrim-Audi 21:47
Simon Stockton Team Madigan 21:47
Matthew Heaney Apollo CT 21:49

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.