Ulster Cycling News

Collis Retains Eric Maxwell Trophy

Con Collis of Ravens returned to Dublin tonight with the Eric Maxwell Trophy for the second year in a row. He recorded the fastest individual time in tonight's Dave Kane League which was also the Maxwell Cup event promoted by West Down Wheelers. Collis was the only rider to go below 21 minutes on a fine warm night with his 20.45. The only faster time was recorded by the Paralympian tandem pairing of Damian Shaw and Andy Fitzgerald who came in under the 20 minute mark with a 19.56.

The lovely evening saw 66 riders line out with eleven riders in the 21 minute group. Stuart Bennett of Phoenix CC pipping Maryland's Mark Greer for the second week by the exact same margin - a mere 4 seconds.

The night also saw the welcome return of Clann Eireann's John Heverin who was next best placed rider with a 21.11 beating club mate Mickey Murray who recorded a 21.25.

Martin Tohill of Spires CC recorded a PB with a great time of 21.44 pushing him into the top ten on the night as did Adam McGreevy of Apollo. Simon Stockton of Team Madigan, fresh from his '25' win last night was just inside the top ten of individual riders and his time of 21.54 ensured that he beat his clubmate and arch rival Nigel Laffin by 47 seconds.

Good rides were also recorded by some of the more Junior members such as Clann Eireann's Ciara Mulholland, Apollo's Matthew Heaney, Joshua Daly (Banbridge CC) and Noel Doyle of West Down Wheelers. Heather Wilson once again took the prize for first woman with a time of 22.53. Phil Omrod made the long trip North but decided that he had to do a duathlon instead, cycling the first half and walking the remainder following a puncture. Hard Luck Phil.

West down Wheelers did a superb job of marshalling with lots of signage, four marshalls at the turn and lots of time keepers and helpers at the start line. It was also very much a family affair for the club tonight with the late Eric Maxwell's wife and family in attendance. Barbara, his daughter, took control at the results board and did a great job while the prize for fastest clubman went to Will Maxwell with his time of 22.37. However this should not surprise anyone since his dad is the one and only Billy Maxwell.

Many thanks to all at West Down, not only for the great support we always receive but also for all the banter and craic as well. Billy Smyth, as always, was a gem.

The full results can be viewed by clicking the TT button on the left. The top ten are listed below. As always if anyone recorded a PB on the night and would like it acknowledged, please email me at marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com.



Top Ten Eric Maxwell '10'
Damian Shaw/Andy Fitzgerald Paralympian Tandem 19.56
Con Collis Ravens 20.45
Stuart Bennett Phoenix CC 21.06
Mark Greer Maryland Wheelers 21.10
John Heverin Clann Eireann 21.11
Mickey Murray Clann Eireann 21.25
Ivan Robinson Ards CC 21.27
Aaron Baines Team Vision Racing 21.37
Martin Tohill Spires CC 21.44 PB
Colm Cassidy SportActive 21.47
Simon Stockton Team Madigan 21.54

Report Marian Lamb Club Development Officer

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.