Ulster Cycling News

Conor McCann and Alan Lavery win at Loughgall

image18Conor McCann and Alan Lavery proved strongest in Square Wheels CC’s inaugural Autumn Gold Road Race which was run off in glorious September sunshine in Loughgall today. Despite the early start, riders travelled from as far as Donegal and Dublin hoping to take advantage of the last chance for points before the road season wraps up.

There were separate A3 and A4 races, both taking in four laps of a rolling 12.5 mile circuit. The A3 race started at a relatively steady pace but as riders tried to slip away during the race, the pace started to rise. The bunch was not letting anyone too far ahead and by the last lap it was all still together. However, with a short sharp climb on the approach to the finish, the peleton was well stretched out with juniors Conor McCann (Team Aesa) and Nathan Weir (Harps CC) coming across the line in first and second. Third place was a close sprint with Nigel Bradley (North West CC) rounding out the podium.


The A4 race started fast and for a while were closing in on the A3s. While several riders tried to get clear, going into the final lap the race was all still together. However, Alan Lavery of North Down forged clear and came into the finish straight alone to take victory ahead of Martin Connolly (Killylough CC) and John Hughes of Clogher Valley CC in third.

Square Wheels would like to thank race sponors O’Kane Superstore Armagh and Tomneys Bar Moy for their support. The race would not have been possible without the dedicated Square Wheels members, friends, the local PSNI and commissaries who all ensured a safe and fair race. Local charity MACS provided copious refreshments afterwards and Square Wheels are delighted to donate £500 to support their work in caring for young people facing homelessness and mental health problems.


Report Conan Donnelly
Pics Courtesy Raffoto.com

Many thanks to Philip and Andy Blair for the results and some race pics by them  can be found HERE

A3 results

  1. Conor McCann (Team Aesa)
  2. Nathan Weir (Harps CC)
  3. Nigel Bradley (North West CC)
  4. Daniel Logue (Foyle CC)
  5. Gary Walker (Team Madigan)
  6. Aaron McQuaid (Emyvale CC)
  7. Edward Kearney (Phoenix CC)
  8. Pete Hughes (Armagh CC)
  9. Stephen Mullan (North West CC)
  10. Dean Lockhart (Carn Wheelers)

A4 Results

  1. Alan Lavery (North Down CC)
  2. Martin Connelly (Killylough CC)
  3. John Hughes (Clogher Valley CC)
  4. Joshua Daly (VC Iveagh)
  5. Martin Conway (Termon Wheelers)
  6. Nigel Gibson (Carn Wheelers)
  7. Noel McIlfatrick (Castlereagh CC)
  8. Adrian Daly (Armagh CC)


Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.