Ulster Cycling News

Great Racing at Bishopscourt

aJames Ambrose (North Down CC) won the Emma McMullan Memorial Cup at Bishopscourt motor racing circuit on Saturday 6th June. Ambrose from Portavogie won on the attack early in the 15 lap race (31.5 miles) along with strong Dundalk man Alan Bingham in the sprint for the line for a memorable victory.

Paul Wilkinson (West Down wheelers) was third at 42 seconds with Emmet Vallely (Square Wheels) who was 4th, Lindsay Watson (Plush MTB) 5th and  Davy Mc Knight (TVR) 6th.

The windy conditions made it a tough day to race on the exposed motor racing circuit. All the races ended with breakaway wins and bunches fragmenting into several groups.


The Dromara club held a full programme of youth and senior races. Geoff Garnett (Phoenix) won the masters race on his own with Colm McLarnon (North Down CC) beating his team mate Michael Crowe and Tom Henry in the sprint for 2nd.


Jane Millar (Bann wheelers) was first of the women with Trudy Brown (VC Glendale) 2nd and Alwyn Shannon (Newry Wheelers) 3rd.


The A4 event was won by Dale Walker (Phoenix from Barry Tinnelly (Newry) and Nigel Watt (Bann Wheelers).


Odhran Doogan (Errigal won the under 12 race from Darren Rafferty and Rowan Montgomery (Ballymoney). The Under 14 race was won by Shay Donnelly with Ruairi Grimes second and Ciaran Dixon third.

Robbie Doherty was first under 16 with Liam Wilson second and Matthew Gibson of the host club third. North Down CC’s Mollie McClarnon was first girl in the Under 16 event.

Riders and supportes were fed throughout the long day of racing with sandwiches and tea in the Headquarters. Thank you Martin Grimley and Dromara Cycling Club. Commissaire for the day was Coalisland man James McLaughlin.

Report Brendan Kirk

Pics Bronagh Kirk
For more of Bronagh's Pics click HERE

For Full Results click HERE




Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.