Ulster Cycling News

14/06/2012 Spires Trilogy Rd 3 – Toome

The third and final Spires Trilogy TT took place on the Toome course tonight. There was a good turnout of 31 cyclists on a very windy night. The very strong Easterly tail wind on the outward 5 saw some very fast times to the half way turn. It was a very different story on the way back with a real slog and difficulties getting even close to 20mph in sections. David McCann set a very fast time for the conditions of 20:55 in what was a good training night for his Olympics later in the summer. Second place tonight went to David Heagney of East Tyrone CC with a very respectable time of 22:58. Third place tonight went to Roe Valley’s James Mullan with a time of 23.04.

James continued his recent good form to win the Spires Trilogy series outright, with Martin Tohill in overall second place and Matthew Brennan third.

First Woman of the night was Gillian Orr with a great time for the conditions of 27.59. Gillian also won first woman in the trilogy series.

First Vet on standard tonight was the infamous and very fast Cormac (Da) McCann who also won the Vet on standard for the series. Well done all the overall series winners.

Report Martin Tohill

14/06/2012 Spires Trilogy Rd 3 - Toome

David McCann RTS 20.55
David Heagney East Tyrone CC 22.58
James Mullan Roe Valley CC 23.04
Matthew Brennan Ballymena Chain Reaction 23.10
Martin Tohill Spires CC 23.16
Peter Cole Roe Valley CC 23.18
Mark Watson Ards CC 23.27
John Hunter North Down CC 23.38
Tim Woodside Muckamore Centurians 23.47
Connor Young Ballymena Chain Reaction 23.52
Joby Holman Phoenix CC 24.02
Sean McIntyre Orchard Wheelers 24.07
Francis McNicholl Roe Valley CC 24.13
Dominic Drumm Bann Wheelers 24.20
Paul McLaughlin Roe Valley CC 24.31
Cormac McCann Phoenix CC 25.27
Harry Martin Clann Eirean 25.37
Ryan Walsh Carn Wheelers 25.45
John O Neill Spires CC 25.52
Ed Boyle Phoenix CC 25.54
Adrian Kerr Ballymena Chain Reaction 25.55
Colin Wilson Bikeworks 26.27
Graeme Evans Spires CC 27.03
Gillian Orr Ards CC 27.59
Sheena O Neill Island Wheelers CC 28.00
Gerry Scullion Bann Valley 28.40
Bobby Nicholson UA 28.40
Sorcha Laverty Spires CC 29.41
Gary Heenan Keevan 29.52
Martin McErlean Spires CC 30.23
Jennifer Bill UA 30.43
Darrell Erwin UHWA 31.49

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.