Ulster Cycling News

22/04/2012 Ernie Magwood Super Six Round 1 – Toome

Ernie Magwood Super 6 Time Trial League Toome 22/04/2012
The first round of the 2012 Ernie Magwood S6 league kicked off on a cold morning on the Toome bypass, with a field of 40 riders signing on, including 7 ladies joining in to prepare for the up coming Celtic Chrono event.

Event Organiser James McLaughlin decided it would be interesting to attempt the 10 with 2 rear wheels and no front, luckily John Heverin stepped in with his spare, saving James from having to wheelie the course.

On the day there was few surprises. The strong men came to the fore. John Heverin taking the win by a good margin, John Madden was as expected, right up there too, However, one man proved that mountain bikers are hard men, Cathal Doyle rode a blinder, to separate the two Johns, an incredible performance for a relative newcomer to Time Trials. Well done Cathal.

Fastest Vet on the day, was John Madden, fastest woman was Heather Foley, while Darrell Irwin rode very strongly, and paced his effort well, something I saw first hand, as his minute man caught him within a mile, but then stayed just 50-100yds in front for the next 2!

Problems on the day, included a course some 300m too long, as spotted by Mr Millimeter, “Cormac  G McCann, I suppose you don’t become, or rear a family of champions without being precise! Also the time keepers had a very difficult time, with wet paper and riders not calling their numbers. To avoid any confusion, and help ensure you get the correct time, it would be appreciated if riders could shout their number as they finish, as this makes a difficult job much easier.

Huge thanks to all the usual helpers from Island Wheelers. Especially Sheena O Neill for doing sign on and riding the event, I wonder if we can teach her to push riders off, and also time them finishing in the style of Mo Foster?

Report David Heagney

UWA Bikeworks League Rd  2
The event also double as Round 2 of the Bikeworks sponsored Time trial League for women and was also the second selection event for the upcoming Celtic Chrono.

Heather Foley took the points on this occasion but Mary Hunter of Dromara rode a stormer to record a time of 25.0 with West Tyrone's Rachael Withers not far behind on 25.40.

Back on the scene was Frieda Brown of Banbridge but unfortunately Frieda decided on the scenic route and headed to Magherafelt before realising her mistake. She then headed up the Glenshane Pass before finally getting back on track. She is now looking for the loan of a GPS system to help guide her. Hard luck Frieda.
Report Marian Lamb

Results Ernie Magwood Super Six Round 1

John Heverin (Clann Eireann) 21:11
Cathal Doyle (Carn Wheelers)22:04
John Madden (Curran Racing) 22:10
Mark Brown (Phoenix CC) 22:54
Desi Foley (Phoenix CC)  22:59
Peter Wilson (Bio Racer)23:05
Aaron Deane (Foyle CC) 23:06
Peter Kennedy (East Antrim Audi) 23:48
David Heagney (East Tyrone) 23:53
Declan McMackin (North Down) 24:00
Jim Hegarty (Phoenix CC) 24:05
Brendan McCourt (Northern Dave Kane)24:09
Heather Foley (Maryland Wheelers) 24:10
Alistair Steele (Spires CC) 24:26
Dominic Drumm (Bann Wheelers) 24:30
Paul Swenarton (North Down) 24:47
Noel McLoughlin (Island Wheelers) 24:48
John McAuley (Apollo CT) 24:48
Seamus Walsh (Phoenix CC) 25:00
Mary Hunter (Dromara CC) 25:01
Gerald McVeigh (Island Wheelers) 25:08
Cormac McCann (Phoenix CC) 25:17
James McLaughlin (Island Wheelers) 25:17:00
Cecil Conn (Phoenix CC) 25:24:00
Rachael Withers (westtyronevelo.com)25:40
Brian Simpson (North Down)25:57
Warren McNeill (Clann Eireann)26:09
Stephen McCauley 26:26
Adrian Kerr (Ballymena CRC)26:26
Sinead Rivers (Roe Valley CC) 26:34
William Orr (Ards CC)26:35
Kay Hack (Bann Wheelers) 26:40
Brendan McCartan (Phoenix CC) 26:53
Mervyn Seffen (East Tyrone ) 27:48
Sheena ONeill (Island Wheelers)30:15
Laura Maxwell (Roe Valley )30:41
Pat Ludlow (East Tyrone )30:42
Sorcha Laverty (Spires CC) 32:14
Frieda Brown (Banbridge) 32:56
Darrel Irwin (Ulster Handcycling Association)  35:01

Results Bikeworks TT League Round 2

Heather Foley (Maryland Wheelers) 24:10
Mary Hunter (Dromara CC) 25:01
Rachael Withers (westtyronevelo.com)25:40
Sinead Rivers (Roe Valley CC) 26:34
Kay Hack (Bann Wheelers) 26:40
Sheena ONeill (Island Wheelers)30:15
Sorcha Laverty (Spires CC) 32:14
Frieda Brown (Banbridge) 32:56

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.