Ulster Cycling News

McLaughlin Lifts Yellow in Donegal

aEoghan McLaughlin of the NRPT outfit took the first yellow jersey of the 27th promotion of Rás Dhun na nGall in an exciting sprint finish. McLaughlin was one of an eight man break which at one stage gained almost thirty seconds on the chasers.

Unlike previous Friday night stages in this event the bunch kept very much together this time with any attacks quickly reeled in until just after the halfway stage when a small group got away, This group included the eventual winner McLaughlin, along with his team-mates Conor Halvey and Alexis Roche. Junior Ethan Downey (Island Wheelers), Sean Murnane (Cycling Leinster) and Michael McGlynn of the Belgian Project Cycling Ulster Development team were also in this break.


The pace was fast as the riders covered the rolly roads around Ardara and Glenties with two KOH primes on the route. McLaughlin took the first of these followed by Dillon Corker (NRPT) and Sean Cosgrove (CKR). The second KOH was taken by Ethan Downey guesting for Island Wheelers followed by McLaughlin and Liam Hanley (Leinster) and Michael McGlynn (Belgian Project CU Team).


In the run to the line the three NRPT riders were to the fore with McLaughlin taking the win followed by Conor Halvey and Alexis Roche. Downey was fourth followed by Sean Murnane (Cycling Leinster), Michael McGlynn (Belgian Project), Liam Hanley (Leinster) and Robbie McElderry (Bann Wheelers). Adam Ward (AAA) and Ruane McArdle (NRPT) completed the top ten

Tomorrow the day starts off with a hilly time trial in the morning followed by a fifty seven mile road race stage so there is still plenty to play for.

Report and Pics Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercycling news.com

Internet is slow so pics will be added when possible

Full results can be downloaded HERE

Top Ten Stage 1 : GC is Same as there were no bonuses in this stage

  1. McLaughlin,Eoghan     NRPT                   1h11'52"
  2. Halvey,Conor          NRPT                   1h11'52"
  3. Roche,Alexis         NRPT                   1h11'52"
  4. Downey,Ethan         Island Wheelers        1h11'54"    @02"
  5. Murnane,Sean          Cycling Leinster       1h11'54"   @ s/t
  6. McGlynn,Michael       Belgium Project Devl   1h11'54"   @ s/t
  7. Hanley,Liam           Cycling Leinster       1h11'58"    @06"
  8. McElderry,Robbie      Bann Wheelers CC       1h11'58"   @ s/t
  9. Ward,Adam            AAA  Cycling            1h12'28"    @36"
  10. McArdle Ruane,Eoghan  NRPT                   1h12'28"   @ s/t
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.