Ulster Cycling News

31/05/2017 Ulster Team Time Trial Championships

1Newry Storm to Victory in Team TT Championships

The Ulster 25 mile team time trial championships take place on Tuesday evening in dry but windy conditions. Twenty two teams lined up to pit their skill against the clock on the Woodgreen circuit, arguably the fastest time trial circuit in Ulster. This proves the popularity of the event which has continued to grow in numbers since its inception.

Favourites going into the event were the Phoenix A team which included a number of seasoned testers.  East Tyrone have also done well in this event over the past years while Carn Wheelers have been producing testers who are consistently in the results. Missing from the line-up this year was East Antrim Audi who always fielded a strong team.

However it was the Newry Wheelers squad of Kevin Lynch, Sean Featherstone, Colm Quinn and Niall Clarke who upset the apple-cart and completed the 25 miles in a blistering 49:28, almost two minutes faster than Island Wheelers who took silver with 51:24 and Carn Wheelers who ousted the Phoenix Last Minute team to take bronze.


The Ballymena Road Club Women's team was the only woman's team to participate this year and they took the Women's Title in a time of 61:09. The team consisted of Eileen Burns, Laura Blair, Janine Blair and Claire Gillespie

Marian Lamb UN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

NB :If the person who took the pics could contact me I will credit the pics. Many thanks

Gold: Newry Wheelers -  Sean Featherstone , Colm Quinn,Niall Clarke Kevin Lynch - Time 49.28

Silver: Island Wheelers -  Barry Hayes, John Ferrity, Dean Burnside, NoelMcLoughlin - Time 51.24

Bronze: Carn Wheelers -  Michael Scullion, Dessy Smith, Dean Lockhart, Barry, Russell

Results Ulster Team Time Trial Championships Promoted by Phoenix CC

1) Newry Wheelers -  49:28
2) Island Wheelers - 51:24
3) Carn Wheelers - 51:40
4) Phoenix Last Minute - 51:53
5) Velo Cafe Magasin  VCM A - 52:41
6) East Tyrone CC ETCC A - 52:56
7) Keevan Cycling Club - 52:58
8) Ballymena Rd Club BRC A - 53:11
9) Phoenix CC Phoenix Crumlin - 53:18
10) Emyvale CC - 53:22
11) East Tyrone CC ETCC B - 53:51
12) Phoenix CC Phoenix 9ers - 54:20
13) Newry Wheelers B - 54:26
14) Maryland  Wheelers - 54:58
15) Velo Club Iveagh VCI A - 56:51
16) Velo Club Iveagh VCI Z - 57:14
17) Ballymena Rd Club BRC Road Bike 1 - 57:18
18) Phoenix CC Team Velominati - 57:22
19) Velo Cafe Magasin VCM Delta - 57:59
20) Phoenix CC Phoenix CORG - 58:11
21) Ballymena Rd Club BRC Woman - 61:09
22) Ballymena Rd Club BRC Road Bike 2 - 61:17
23) Velo Cafe Magasin VCM B - 62:52

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.