Ulster Cycling News

Killinchy GP Well Run Event

A2Killinchy CC ran their inaugural race on Saturday and t was an excellent event. The club put on a great spread at sign-on which was very much appreciated by the officials and riders as sign-on started at 8.15.

The cub promoted three races on the day providing opportunities for all categories to gain points. The A4 riders had to complete four laps of a ten mile lumpy course with a tough uphill finish. In this event it was Josh Daly of VC Iveagh who took the win and it is good to see Josh back competing.


He was followed in by Sean McCourt of VC Glendale and Sean is another rider who is beginning to show strength and race craft.


Scott Maitland of the promoting club took the third podium positon proving he is just as handy on the road as he is in off road events. Michael Boal (Team Madigan), Oliver Sloan (VC Mourne), Adam Cunningham (VC Mourne), Barry McKenna (Newry Wheelers) and team-mate Michael Fox completed the top eight for points.

Killinchy CC promoted a separate race for A3 riders but as in so many of these events the race was dominated by Juniors who took the top three positions. Harvey Barnes of East Tyrone took the win followed in by Powerhouse Sport riders, Xeno Young and Brendan Flannigan.


The next two positions were taken by two riders who have come back into the sport after an absence These were Stuart Henry of North Down CC and John Bann Lavery of Clann Eireann CC. Brendan Douglas (West Down Wheelers), Richard Topping (Ards CC), David Dickson (Dromara CC), Luke Joyce (Kinning Cycles) and Edward Shannon of VC Mourne completed the top ten n this sixty mile race.


The main race of the day was the  Balloo Inns Cup for A1/2. There were over thirty riders taking part in this event which was hard fought and aggressive.  Lindsay Watson of Powerhouse Sport took his first win of the season beating Richard Maybin of Team Madigan and Aaron Parks of CCT. Peter Wakely of Phoenix CC took fourth ahead of an on-form Paul Wilkinson of West Down Wheelers.

lindsay Lewis Ferguson of Bikehouse, who is well known in the off road scene took a credible sixth. Keith Philips (North Down CC), Gavin Magowan (Dromara CC ), Kevin McKinney (Armagh City Cyclists) and Kieran McVeigh of  Phoenix CC completed the top ten for points.

Following the races Killinchy put on another great spread of food which went down well with everyone. The Club are to be congratulated on a very well run event and attention to safety. They were fortunate to engage the help of local PSNI who controlled traffic at Balloo. Many thanks to the officers involved. Thanks also to the Comms on the day, Mark Lamb, Jim Maguire and Trainee Comm Nuala. Finally thanks to the loads of marshalls scattered throughout the course.


Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics Courtesy of The Belgian Project Media Team. More pics by the team can be found HERE.


Results  Killinchy GP
A4 Race

  1. Joshua Daly VC Iveagh
  2. Sean McCourt VC Glendale
  3. Scott Maitland Killinchy CC
  4. Michael Boal Team Madigan
  5. Oliver Sloan VC Mourne
  6. Adam Cunningham VC Mourne
  7. Barry McKenna Newry
  8. Michael Fox Newry Wheelers
  9. Richard Annett VC Mourne
  10. Michael Harkin Killinchy CC

A3 Results

  1. Harvey Barnes East Tyrone
  2. Xeno Young Powerhouse
  3. Brendan Flannigan Powerhouse
  4. Stuart Henry NDCC
  5. John Lavery Clann Eireann
  6. Brendan Douglas West Down Wheelers
  7. Richard Topping Ards CC
  8. David Dickson Dromara CC
  9. Luke Joyce Kinning Cycles
  10. Edward Shannon VC Mourne

Unplaced A2 Gary McCullough Team Madigan
Unplaced Junior Padraig Rogan Phoenix CC


 Balloo Inns Cup A1/2

  1. Lindsay Watson Powerhouse
  2. Richard Maybin Madigan
  3. Aaron Parks Cookstown
  4. Peter Wakely PhoenixCC
  5. Paul Wilkinson West Down Wheelers
  6. Lewis Ferguson Bikehouse
  7. Keith Philips North Down CC
  8. Gavin Magowan Dromara CC
  9. Kevin McKinney Armagh
  10. Kieran McVeigh Phoenix CC



Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.