Ulster Cycling News

Lucan’s McDunphy Takes Tour of Ards

7The Wirefox Tour of Ards 2017 saw many of the top names in Irish cycling take to the roads around the Ards Peninsula to cover the 140 km course. The race took the riders through many of the small towns and villages on both sides of this coastal route. This classic event would not have been possible without the support of the PSNI who provided a control vehicle and motorbike outriders.

As is the norm with this event the pace was high from the gun and the riders were to average almost 28mph over the distance. A small group managed to go clear on the final ascent of the hill and this included Conn McDunphy (Lucan), Mark Potts (Neon Velo) and Mark O’Callaghan (Aqua Blue). However the fast moving chasers closed the gap.

With the line in sight McDunphy gave a final push to take the win four seconds ahead of Mateo Cigola of Aqua Blue who won the bunch sprint. Lindsay Watson of CRC took the final podium position.


He was followed in by Chris Mc Glinchey (Powerhouse Sport), Craig Rea (Phoenix CC), Roger Aiken (U/A), Mark Millar (Velo Cafe Magasin), Andrew Hedley (Ards CC), David Hamilton (NDCC) and Marc Potts (Neon Velo) who all pick up points.


Liam Wilson of Powerhouse Sport was the first Junior. This new team is certainly showing that it packs a punch with great results in the  early season events. Gareth Murray had the honour to be the first Ards rider home.


Many thanks to the Comms, marshalls, drivers and PSNI on the day. Thanks to all the catering team who ensured no-one went away hungry.


Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics courtesy of the Belgian Project media team. More pics HERE


Results: The Wirefox Tour of Ards 2017 - 140km : 3 h.13 min

  1. Conn McDunphy Lucan 3h13min
  2. Mateo Cigola Aqua Blue @4 sec
  3. Lindsay Watson CRC
  4. Chris Mc Glinchey Powerhouse Sport
  5. Craig Rea Phoenix CC
  6. Roger Aiken U/A
  7. Mark Millar Velo Cafe Magasin
  8. Andrew Hedley Ards CC
  9. David Hamilton NDCC
  10. Marc Potts Neon Velo

First Junior : Liam Wilson Powerhouse5

Unplaced Ards CC rider  : Gareth Murray


Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.