Ulster Cycling News

St Patrick’s Weekend Produces Loads of Winners


Angus Fyffe Triumphs at Wallace Caldwell
The Wallace Caldwell promoted by Ballymena is one of those one day classics that all riders want to win. With a hard course and aggressive riding it is always an exciting event. Omagh Wheelers rider, Angus Fyffe was the victor this year followed in by Darnell Moore of Caldwell Cycles. Newry's Jude Sands continued his strong start to the season by filling the final podium position.

With the support of the PSNI the race passes through a number of small towns in County Antrim. Ballymena also provide a great range of refreshments after the race.


Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics by Belgian Project Media Team. More pics HERE

Wallace Caldwell 2017 Results

  1. Angus Fyffe Omagh Wheeler
  2. Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles
  3. Jude Sands Newry Wheelers
  4. David Watson Bike House
  5. Paul McCarter Donegal Bay CC
  6. David Hamilton North Down CC
  7. Gareth McKee Banbridge CC
  8. Craig Rea Phoenix CC
  9. Ronan McLaughlin Aqua Blue Academy
  10. Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles
  11. Cameron McIntyre AC Bisontine
  12. Marcus Christie SBR Performance
  13. Gary Cranston Kinning Cycles

1st Unplaced A2: Gary Cranston (Kinning Cycles)
1st Unplaced A3: Luke McMullan  (Ballymena Road Club)
1st Junior: Robbie Dougherty (Ballymoney CC)
1st Ballymena Road Club: Luke McMullan
2nd Ballymena Road Club: Eileen Burns

Derrymacash GP Promoted by Clann Eireann CC

A3-A4 race, 45 miles (8 x 5.5mile laps)

  1. Ethan Downey Clann Eireann CC
  2. Edward Shannon VC Mourne CC
  3. Cathal Keane-Breslin DCU UU
  4. Chris McCann Inspired Cycling CC
  5. Danny McGlade Apollo CC
  6. Andrew Byrnes Orchard CC
  7. Stephen Irvine Dromara CC
  8. Peter Hughes Armagh City CC
  9. Gary Lyons Armagh City CC
  10. Michael Conway Termon CC

St Patrick’s Day Potato Races Promoted by North Pole CC

Friday 16th March 2017

A1-A2-A3 Race

  1. Darragh McCarter Donegal Bay
  2. Adam Ward Powerhouse
  3. Conor Halvey NRPT
  4. Ali Gribbon Carn Wheelers
  5. Sean McFadden Letterkenny
  6. Rory Devlin Inishowen Wheelers
  7. Ronan McLaughlin Aqua Blue
  8. Brendan Flanagan Powerhouse
  9. Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers
  10. Edward Kearney Phoenix
  11. Mark Buchanan Caldwell
  12. Christopher Birney (SportActive)

A4 Race

  1. Gerard McEleney Saddle Rock CC
  2. Gordan Watt East Tyrone CC
  3. Keelan Carbery Four Masters
  4. Mark Gallagher Four Masters
  5. Peter Smyth Unattached
  6. Maurice Sutherland Foyle CC
  7. Declan McEntee Killylough CC
  8. Ronald McDaid Saddle Rock CC
  9. Gareth Kerrigan Four Masters
  10. Brendan Doherty Saddle Rock CC
  11. John Quigley Saddle Rock CC
  12. Declan O`Neill Inspired Cycling

Women’s Race

  1. Lorraine Mullarkey Emyvale
  2. Maeve McKenna Cloghervally
  3. Julie Mulligan Strule Wheelers

Masters Race

  1. Robert Curry Foyle CC
  2. John Rafferty North Down CC
  3. Tommy Kerrigan NWCC

Results - Carn Classic Sunday 19th March 2017

Ryan Riley
David Watson
Darnell Moore
Ronan McLaughlin
David Hamilton
Johnny Taylor – Carn
Darragh McCarter
James Ambrose
Ali Gribbon – Carn
Lindsay Watson

Harvey Barnes
Chris McCann
Nigel Gibson – Carn - Well done Nigel, first ever A3 race
John Morton
Richard Archer
Sean McGreevy
Aaron Wiley
Shea Gribbon
Nathan Gray
Stewart Graham

Luke Joyce
Gordan Watt
Martin Blue
Michael Boal
Brian McComb
Jon Hilditch
Brendan Carey
Craig Gibson - Carn
John Quigley
Rodney Young – Carn

Christian O’Neil
Laura Blair
Meta Johnson

Uel Cunningham
Brian Hannon
Brian Doherty

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.