Ulster Cycling News

Powerhouse Take Top Four Spots in Danny Boy Race

The Powerhouse Juniors of Liam Wilson, PJ Doogan, Adam Ward and Brendan Flanagan swept the boards at the A3 Danny Boy Race at Feeny yesterday. The sixty mile course had plenty of short sharp rises with a couple of long drags to test the legs. The Powerhouse were in action all day and were determined not to let anyone get away.

By the second lap a group had gone clear with 20 seconds on the chasers. Flanagan chased to bridge the gap and when his team-mates joined him in the next lap the quartet forged ahead gaining two minutes on the bunch. Wilson took the win followed in by Doogan, Ward and Flanagan.

Next across the line was Aaron Baines of (Spinning CC) making a welcome return to competitive cycling. The remaining positions for points were taken by Andrew Hedley (Ards CC), Johnny McConomy (Carn Wheelers) and Robin Wilson (Ards CC)

The wet conditions made the gong hard and the roads were slippy. The A4 race was won by Conor Bradley (Dunloy CC) followed in by Kyle Adams (Ards CC) and Shane McNeill (BCAS).

The promoting club, Roe valley CC always cater for women and Masters. The Master's race was won by William Gill of Ards CC who just had the edge on Jim Wilson of Ballymena and James McCosker of Orchard CC.

In the Women's race Meta Johnson (Team Madigan) took another podium place followed by Jane Millar (Bann Wheelers) and Lisa Lamont (Team Madigan).

Roe Valley had loads of refreshments for everyone back at the hall and are to be congratulated on a well run event.

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Danny Boy Races
A3 Race

  1. Liam Wilson (Powerhouse Sport)
  2. PJ Doogan (Powerhouse Sport)
  3. Adam Ward (Powerhouse Sport)
  4. Brendan Flanagan (Powerhouse Sport)
  5. Aaron Baines (Spinning CC)
  6. Andrew Hedley (Ards CC)
  7. Johnny McConomy (Carn Wheelers)
  8. Robin Wilson (Ards CC)
  9. Andrew Steele (Termoneeny CC)
  10. Gareth Murray (Ards CC
  11. Ivor Hession (Phoenix CC)
  12. Kevin Holian (Errigal CC)

A4 Race

  1. Conor Bradley (Dunloy CC)
  2. Kyle Adams (Ards CC)
  3. Shane McNeill (BCAS)
  4. Keelan Carberry (Four Masters)
  5. Sean McCourt (Glendale VC)
  6. Vinny Mort (Dunloy CC)
  7. Nigel Gibson (Carn Wheelers)
  8. Martin Blue (Spires CC)
  9. Gerard McEleney (Saddle Rock)
  10. Gary Simms (Phoenix CC)
  11. Craig Gibson (Carn Wheelers)
  12. Roger Brown (Roe Valley)

Women’s Race

  1. Meta Johnson (Team Madigan)
  2. Jane Millar (Bann Wheelers)
  3. Lisa Lamont (Team Madigan)
  4. Julie Mulligan (Strule Wheelers)
  5. Jennifer Holmes (Phoenix CC)

Masters Race

  1. William Gill (Ards CC)
  2. J Wilson (Ballymena Road Club)
  3. James McCusker (Orchard Wheelers)
  4. Michael Tolan (Phoenix CC)
  5. Colin McCloskey (Apollo CT)
  6. John Rafferty (North Down CC)
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.