Ulster Cycling News

McCauley and Lyons Triumph at Ballyronan

2Spires CC promoted their annual Spires GP on Saturday in fine and relatively warm weather. The rolly course tested the riders. The A4's remained mostly intact although there were attacks with Maryland Wheelers riders to the fore in this regard.

In the end the win was taken by Gary Lyons (Armagh CC). His club mate Neil Rafferty was second while Apollo's Fergal Magee made up the final podium place. This s a great result for Armagh City Cyclists. This is a relatively new club and they have been going from strength to strength producing some excellent riders.


The A race saw the A3's get a three minute handicap over the A1 and A2 scratch bunch. The A3's rode hard and actually increased the difference in the first two laps. However by the third lap the chasers had woken up to the fact and the pressure was put on to close the gap.

Craig McCauley (Caldwell Cycles) was to triumph in the end beating Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers) and club-mate, Darnel Moore. Rising star Jude Sands took an excellent fourth and is really beginning to appear regularly in the results.


Eileen Burns of Ballymena rode the A race and finished comfortably.


Riders and supporters were treated to a great array of food following the event at the Race HQ at Ballyronan Marina and the catering team are to be congratulated. Thanks also to the Commissaires on the day. Many thanks to Ian Barfoot for the photofinsh results service.

One of the outstanding features of the race was the high level of attention given over to safety. At the corner heading from the Loup towards Ballyronan there were no less that ten marshalls strategically placed while other areas such as possible traffic emerging from the GAA pitch were also covered. Well done to Spires CC.

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ustercyclingnews.com

Pics courtesy of the Belgian Project Media Team (More Pics HERE)

Cathcart Centra Spires CC Grand Prix A Race

  1. Craig McCauley (Caldwell Cycles)
  2. Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers)
  3. Darnel Moore (Caldwell Cycles)
  4. Jude Sands (Newry Wheelers)
  5. Gary Donaldson (Omagh Wheelers)
  6. Michael McGlynn (Omagh Wheelers)
  7. David Hamilton (NDCC)
  8. Donal Shearer (Phoenix CC)
  9. Michael Anderson (NWCC)
  10. Luke McMullan (BRC)

Windell Ltd. Spires CC Grand Prix B Race

  1. Gary Lyons (Armagh CC)
  2. Neil Rafferty (Armagh CC)
  3. Fergal Magee (Apollo CC)
  4. Mark Farquhar (ETCC)
  5. Nigel Gibson (Carn Wheelers)
  6. Gerard Doyle (Dromara CC)
  7. Jon Hilditch (BRC)
  8. Conal Donnelly (CVH)
  9. Adrian Daly (Armagh)
  10. Lubomir Tomek (Phoenix CC)

1st Unplaced Lady - Laura Blair


1st Unplaced Spires - Graeme Evans


Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.