Ulster Cycling News

Full Day of Racing at Phoenix GP

aThe hard-working team at Phoenix CC were kept going from early morning as the club promoted racing for all senior categories at the George Rooney Phoenix GP.

First up were the Masters and the over sixties were given a  two minute handicap back to the over fifties. The pace was hard and the long drag back to the finish took its toll on some riders. Coming to the line there was a full on sprint for the finish which was taken by Brian Hannan of Banbridge CC. He was followed in by Colin McCloskey (Apollo CT) and Michael Tolan (Phoenix CC).


Next up were the women and there was a good field for this event. Laura Blair of Ballymena emerged as the winner followed in by Jane Wilkinson (Bann Wheelers) and Meta Johnston (Team Madigan).


There was a full field of riders for the A4 event with a lot of new faces. As is the norm in A4 races the bunch remained intact for much of the race but three riders  jumped clear with 1 and a half laps to go. Two of these remained ahead of the bunch and contested the sprint with Donal Shearer (Phoenix CC) just getting the verdict over Gordon Watt (East Tyrone).


Unfortunately the bunch seemed to be unaware that the two riders had gone free and there was a bunch sprint. Third place and winner of the sprint was Martin Conway of Termon Wheelers who obviously thought that he had won the race.


Stuart Henry of North Down who has been off the racing scene for some time competed in this event as did his father Tom Henry. As Tom said it is not often that a father can get to race against his son. Hope we are going to see you racing again more frequently Stuart.


In the afternoon it was the turn of the A3's to take to the roads around Nutts Corner. This was a fast paced race with a full field. There was a crash in the closing stretch and although a number of riders came off no-one was seriously injured. The win was taken by Ben Cody of Velo Café Magasin. Edward Kearney of Phoenix CC was second followed by Simon Jones (UCD).

There was separate race for A1's an A2's with the latter getting a short handicap over A1. By the third lap the larger A1 bunch had split in three and all were keeping the pressure on. The win went Chris McGlinchey of CRC with Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport) taking second and Eoin Morton of UCD was third. I must apologise to all but my camera went haywire and I only got a couple of usable pictures.


As usual Phoenix had plenty of support and lead cars and attention was paid to rider and spectator comfort with toilets at the lay-by. Back at Crumlin Community Centre Brian Henry and his crew of Karen Jack and Gillian Steele had hot soup, chicken and choriza pasta and loads of tray nbales and tea and coffee to satisfy the hungriest of riders.


Many thanks to comms on the day Jack Watson Andy Wills and Jim Adams.

Thanks also to Frank Gibson on photofinish.

It was good to have a chance to meet two members of Ulster's newest club, Cornerstone.


Report and Pics Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com


  1. Brian Hannan (Banbridge CC)
  2. Colin McCloskey (Apollo CT)
  3. Michael Tolan (Phoenix CC)



  1. Laura Blair (Ballymena RC)
  2. Jane Wilkinson (Bann Wheelers)
  3. Meta Johnston (Team Madigan)



  1. Donal Sheerer (Phoenix CC)
  2. Gordon Watt (East Tyrone)
  3. Martin Conway (Termon Wheelers)
  4. Chris McAloran (Orchard CC)
  5. Richard Brown (East Tyrone)
  6. David Zwahlen (Phoenix CC)
  7. Gary Owens (Termon Wheelers)
  8. Neil Higgins (Dunloy CC)


  1. Ben Cody (Velo Café Magasin)
  2. Edward Kearney (Phoenix CC)
  3. Simon Jones (UCD)
  4. Chris McCann (Inspired Cycling)
  5. Robbie Doherty (Ballymoney CC)
  6. Andrew McCullogh (Killinchy CC)
  7. John McGettigan (Lucan CC)
  8. Andrew Hedley (Ards CC)
  9. Jonny McConomy (Carn Wheelers)
  10. Stephen Irvine (Dromara CC)


  1. bChris McGlinchey (CRC)
  2. Lindsay Watson (Powerhouse Sport)
  3. Eoin Morton (UCD)
  4. Paul Kennedy (NCW)
  5. Andrew Chivers (North Down CC)
  6. David Watson (North Down CC)
  7. Mateo Cigala (Aqua Blue)
  8. Louis Carnec (UCD)
  9. Kenny Wilson (U/A)
  10. Conor McCann
  11. Dominic McCartan (Apollo CT)
  12. David McCall
  13. Angus FFyfe (Omagh Wheelers)
  14. Richard Maybin (Team Madigan)




Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.