Ulster Cycling News

Big Turnout for Round 1 CX League

raOver 300 riders took part on Friday night in the Kinning Cyclocross Series and today there were over 350 riders participating in the first round of the Ulster Cyclocross league. This first round was promoted by Apollo CT at Lurgan Park.

It was a busy day for the Apollo club who had marshalls at all key positions who had to put up with the rain. As well as the main CX races there were races for youth riders from U6 upwards and an mtb support race as well.


In the A race it was no surprise to anyone to see Roger Aiken take the win. Dromara's Barry Kellet was second ahead of Graham Boyd of Xmtb McConvey Cycles. On this occasion Glenn Kinning had to be content with fourth. A rider to look out for this season will be Dominic McCartan of Apollo who took sixth.


The B race is reserved for less experienced riders. Winner on the day was Gareth Blair of Xmtb McConvey Cycles followed in by John Scott (Island Wheelers) and Christopher McCann Banbridge CC.


Gill Smith (Phoenix CC) took her first win of the season n the Women's race. Martina Hawkins (Shimna Wheelers) and Alwynne Shannon (Newry Wheelers CC) completed the podium.


In the support mtb race it was Scott Maitland of Killinchy CC who ousted Cathal Hendron of the promoting club. He was then followed in by Dean Lockhart of Carn Wheelers and David McKee of Maryland Wheelers.


In the women's support race Angie Smyth of Apollo took the win ahead of Alison McMullan (North Down CC) and Nicola Nelson (Apollo CT)   19

Full Results including all the Youth Races can be found at www.ulstercyclocross.com

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics courtesy Dany Blondeel of the Belgian Project. More pics HERE


A Race Results

  1. Roger Aiken Asea Wheelworx
  2. Barry Kellett Dromara Cycling Club
  3. Graham Boyd Xmtb McConvey Cycles
  4. Glenn Kinning Kinning Cycles
  5. Brendan Doherty VC Glendale
  6. Dominic McCartan Apollo CT
  7. Derek Finnegan Keevan CC
  8. Jason Henry U/A Ulster
  9. Christian Nachtigall Phoenix CC
  10. Peter Morrison Velo Cafe Magasin

Women's Results

  1. Gill Smith Phoenix CC
  2. Martina Hawkins Shimna Wheelers
  3. Alwynne Shannon Newry Wheelers CC
  4. Caroline Martinez EPIC MTB
  5. Ruth Aiken Banbridge CC
  6. Emma Elder Carn Wheelers
  7. Niamh Skelly Carn Wheelers
  8. Trudy Brown VC Glendale
  9. Jacqueline Wade Dromara Cycling Club
  10. Emma Johnson Dromara Cycling Club

B Race Results

  1. Gareth Blair Xmtb McConvey Cycles
  2. John Scott Island Wheelers
  3. Christopher McCann Banbridge CC
  4. Colm Watson VC Glendale
  5. Mickey Clarke Shimna Wheelers
  6. Robert Smyth Apollo CT
  7. Michael Havern Newry Wheelers CC
  8. Nigel Gibson Carn Wheelers
  9. Garry Rainey East Tyrone Cycling Club
  10. Liam Dolan  Cuchulainn CC

Support Race - Men

  1. Scott Maitland Killinchy CC
  2. Cathal Hendron Apollo CT
  3. Dean Lockhart Carn Wheelers
  4. David McKee Maryland Wheelers
  5. Sean Lyness Apollo CT
  6. Michael Nelson Apollo CT
  7. Jeffrey Doyle Trail Demons CC
  8. Gavin Thompson Maryland Wheelers
  9. Brian McAlinden Apollo CT
  10. David Neil Armstrong  Dromara Cycling Club

Women's Support Race

  1. Angie Smyth Apollo CT
  2. Alison McMullan North Down CC
  3. Nicola Nelson Apollo CT
  4. Deidre Montgomery BCC
  5. Lee McArdle Apollo CT
  6. Suzanne Walker Apollo CT



Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.