Ulster Cycling News

11/09/2016 – 100 Mile Ulster Time Trial – Woodgreen

Hutchinson, Lamont and Hargan Among New Ulster 100 TT Champions
In what only can be described as horrendous conditions a group of hardy men and women lined up a Woodgreen this morning to take part in the Ulster 100 mile Time Trial Championships. While the riders faced a headwind initially by the time they had completed four of the seven laps the wind played a significant part in reducing the rider's speed. Chris Hutchinson of Team Madigan proved to be the fastest rider over 100 miles managing to break the four hour barrier, despite the wind, recording an excellent 3:59:50. He was followed in by Sean Featherstone (Newry Wheelers) with 4:02:41 and John Rafferty of Island Wheelers with 4:04:57. Rafferty was also the fastest of the M40 class.

In the M50 class it was Noel McLoughlin of Island Wheelers who came out on top with 4:24:59. Sean Hargan of Phoenix CC retained hos M60 title with a time of 4:23:54. Domnic Drumm of Bann Wheelers who has completed this event eight times, was second with 4:36:53 and Peter Dallat (Ballycastle CC) was third with 5.39.04.

In the women's event it was Lisa Lamont of Team Madigan who proved to be fastest recording a time of 4.38.38. Laura Blair (Ballymena CRC) was second with 5.01.04 while Nicola McCay (Velo Café Magasin) was third with 5.07.09.

Newry Wheelers took the team prize.

Many thanks to Ballymoney CC for promoting the event. All the riders offered their good wishes to Willie John McLaughin of North Donegal CC for a speedy recovery. Willie John had an accident while out training for the event which he had ridden seven times in the past.

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

11/09/2016 - 100 Mile Ulster Time Trial Results - Woodgreen

Chris Hutchinson (A3 – Team Madigan) 03:59:50
Sean Featherstone (A2 Newry Wheelers) 04:02:41
John Rafferty (M40 – North Down CC) 04:04:57
Colm Quinn (A1 – Newry Wheelers) 04:11:16
Niall O'Gorman (M40 – Phoenix CC) 04:20:44
Ciaran McVeigh (A1 – Phoenix CC) 04:23:07
Sean Hargan (M60 – Phoenix CC) 04:23:54
Noel McLoughlin (M50 - Island Wheelers) 04:24:59
Kenny Bagnall (A3 – Newry Wheelers) 04:25:12
Dominic Drumm (M60 – Bann Wheelers CC) 04:36:53
Lisa Lamont (Woman – Team Madigan) 04:38:38
Gerard McNally (M40 – Bann Valley RC) 04:43:29
Patrick Morning (A4 - Four Masters) 04:56:50
Laura Blair (Woman – Ballymena CRC) 05:01:04
Nicola McCay (Woman – Velo Café Magasin) 05:07:09
Peter Dallat (M60 – Ballycastle CC) 05:39:04

Category results

Elite Men

  1. Chris Hutchinson (A3 Madigan) 3.59.50
  2. Sean Featherstone (A2 Newry Whs) 4.02.41
  3. Colm Quinn (A1 - Newry) 4.11.16
  4. Ciaran McVeigh (A1 - Phoenix) 4.23.07
  5. Kenny Bagnall (A3 - Newry) 4.25.12
  6. Patrick Morning (A4 - Four Masters) 4.56.50


  1. Lisa Lamont (Woman – Team Madigan) 4.38.38
  2. Laura Blair (Woman – Ballymena CRC) 5.01.04
  3. Nicola McCay (Woman – Velo Café Magasin) 5.07.09


  1. John Rafferty (M40 – North Down CC) 4.04.57
  2. Niall O'Gorman (M40 – Phoenix CC) 4.20.44
  3. Gerard McNally (M40 – Bann Valley RC) 4.43.29


Noel McLoughlin (M50 - Island Wheelers) 4.24.59


  1. Sean Hargan (M60 – Phoenix CC) 4.23.54
  2. Dominic Drum (M60 – Bann Wheelers CC) 4.36.53
  3. Peter Dallat (M60 – Ballycastle CC) 5.39.04

Newry Wheelers

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.