Ulster Cycling News

20/08/2016 Ernie Magwood Super 6 :Round 6

The final round of the Ernie Magwood Super 6 Time Trial League took place last night on the Woodgreen course in less than favorable conditions. The Super 6 TT league has been well supported throughout the year and some fast times have been reported especially on the Woodgreen course. This time it was the turn of John Madden to top the leaderboard posting the fastest time on the night with a 20.01 and also giving him the fastest M50 time. Second place went to aspiring Junior, Marc Heaney of the NRPT squad with 20.06 while Rodney Stewart (U/A) continues to impress by taking third with his 20.09.


Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles), John Rafferty (North Down), Cameron McIntyre (NRPT) and Daniel Daly of Phoenix CC completed the seven riders who went below 21 minutes for the course.


Eileen Burns (Ballymena CRC) topped the women's event with an impressive 21:24 only four seconds slower than husband Jason. Mairead Crory continues to improve and posted a 22:34 to take second while Judith Russell of Phoenix CC was third with 22:52.

The organisers would like to thank all the helpers who turned out to make this series a success especially Gordon Parker for his timekeeping and Alicja Černák for all the photographs. Thanks also to the riders who turned out to support the six events. A special thanks to David Heagney and James McLaughlin who have organised the series for several years in memory of their friend and fellow tester Ernie Magwood. Prize giving details and full overall results will be posted later.


Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

If anyone can fill me in on the missing full names and clubs or if there any inaccuracies please contact me at above email address.

Pics by Alicja Černák. More pics by Ali can be found on Gordon Parker's Facebook Page.

20/08/2016 Results Ernie Magwood Super 6 :Round 6

Placing Name Club Race Time
1 John Madden Inspired Cycling 20:01
2 Marc Heaney NRPT 20:06
3 Rodney Stewart U/A 20:09
4 Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles 20:20
5 John Rafferty North Down CC 20:23
6 Cameron McIntyre NRPT 20:40
7 Daniel Daley Phoenix CC 20:57
8 Patrick Withers West Tyrone Velo 21:08
9 Andrew Reid CCT 21:17
10 Kevin McCrossan Four Masters 21:24
10 Jason Burns Ballymena CRC 21:24
12 Gavin Corey Harps CC 21:25
13 Eileen Burns Ballymena CRC 21:28
14 Stephen Colbert U/A 21:38
15 David Heagney Carn Wheelers 21:48
16 Neil Seffen VC Iveagh 21:53
17 Sean Hargan Phoenix CC 22:04
18 Brendan McCourt Northern Dave Kane 22:10
19 Bob Talbot Harps CC 22:24
20 Fearghal Magee Apollo CT 22:28
21 Mark Watson Ards CC 22:31
22 Mairead McCrory Carn Wheelers 22:34
23 Dominic Drumm Bann Wheelers 22:36
24 Barry Kirkland Island Wheelers 22:45
25 Andrew Evans Killinchy CC 22:46
26 Mark Johnston VC Iveagh 22:49
27 Kenneth Brewster Team Madigan 22:50
28 Judith Russell Phoenix CC 22:52
29 Peter Smyth U/A 23:07
30 Martin Conway Termon Wheelers 23:08
31 Alan Somerville East Tyrone CC 23:20
32 Seamus Walsh Phoenix CC 23:22
33 Joe Henry Velo Café Magasin 23:25
34 Joanne Regan Termoneeny CC 23:37
35 Paul McQuillan Bann Valley RC 23:57
35 Fergus Byrne Bann Valley RC 23:57
37 William Orr Ards CC 24:14
38 Enda McKeever Bann Valley RC 24:15
39 Gillian Orr North Down CC 24:21
40 John Nugent Four Masters 24:33
41 Brian Darragh Bann Valley RC 24:53
42 James O'Boyle Bann Valley RC 25:05
43  D Letters 28:30


Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.