Ulster Cycling News

Hennebry Pips Dowling In John Beggs

aAs if winning the National Criterium last night in Banbridge wasn't enough for Mark Dowling of Asea Wheelworx, he was back today for another Banbridge CC promoted event namely the John Beggs Memorial Race. From the outset it was obvious that he wasn't out to stretch his legs after last night's efforts. He eventually got away in a break and coming to the line there was a two up sprint between himself and Conor Hennebry of AquaBlue. In the end Hennebry had the kick to take the win with Dowling having to be content with second position. Ian Richardson of UCD filled the third podium position.


With the 121km distance there were points down to ten and these were hotly contested. Sean Lacey of Aqua Blue took fourth ahead of team-mate Mark O’Callaghan and Ronan McLaughlin of Foyle CC. Ryan Sherlock (U/A), Ryan Reilly (AC Bisontine), Louis Carnac (UCD-Fitzcycles.ie) and Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles) completed the top ten.

In the A4 race it was John McDermot of Omagh Wheelers who had the legs to take the win from Richard McMullan (Ardee CC) and Ciaran Donnelly (Termon Wheelers). Brian O’Kane (Square Wheels), Darryl Northdrop (Phoenix CC), Martin Conway (Termon Wheelers), Robin Wilson (Ards CC) and Joshua Daly (VC Iveagh) completed the top eight for points.


In the Women's race it was a Katherine Smyth of Team Madigan who took another well deserved win. Katherine has really come into her own this year and is going from strength to strength.


However it was Heather Foley of Maryland who took a surprise second place. Heather Foley (nee Wilson) had been one of the top women cyclists in Ulster a few years ago but took time out to get married and have twins. We had heard she was back training so are delighted to see that she is still  a contender. Aideen Keenan (Scott Bikes – Orwell) was third in the event.


Following the event there was the usual Banbridge hospitality back at the hall. The varied and plentiful range of savoury and sweet stuff was very much appreciated by everyone. Another great job by Banbridge CC. Thanks also to the Commissaires on the day.


Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics courtesy of the Belgian Project. More Pics HERE

Sat, Aug 13th: John Beggs Memorial promoted by Banbridge CC

Results A1-A2-A3 Race, 121km

  1. Conor Hennebry AquaBlue
  2. Mark Dowling ASEA Wheelworx
  3. Ian Richardson UCD
  4. Sean Lacey AquaBlue
  5. Mark O’Callaghan AquaBlue
  6. Ronan McLaughlin Foyle CC
  7. Ryan Sherlock U/A
  8. Ryan Reilly AC Bisontine
  9. Louis Carnac UCD-Fitzcycles.ie
  10. Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles
  11. Paul McCarter Donegal Bay CC
  12. Lindsay Watson Plush MTB
  13. James Curry Banbridge CC
  14. Cian Delaney Stamullen RC
  15. Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers
  16. Roger Aiken ASEA-Wheelworx
  17. Adam Leach North Down CC
  18. David Hamilton North Down CC
  19. Jack Ferguson Dromara CC
  20. Eoin Morton UCD-Fitzcycles.ie

1st A2: Andrew Chivers North Down CC

1st Junior: Jack Ferguson Dromara CC

1st A3: Adam Leach North Down CC


Results A4-Women, 75km

  1. John McDermot Omagh Wheelers
  2. Richard McMullan Ardee CC
  3. Ciaran Donnelly Termon Wheelers
  4. Brian O’Kane Square Wheels
  5. Darryl Northdrop Phoenix CC
  6. Martin Conway Termon Wheelers
  7. Robin Wilson Ards CC
  8. Joshua Daly VC Iveagh
  9. Luke McMullan UCD-Fitzcycles.ie
  10. Katherine Smyth Team Madigan

Women’s Podium

  1. Katherine Smyth Team Madigan
  2. Heather Foley Maryland Wheelers
  3. Aideen Keenan Scott Bikes – Orwell


Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.