Ulster Cycling News

31/07/2016 Ulster 10m TT Championships Eglinton

Christie Tops the Chart at Ulster 10m TT Championships
Marcus Christie, who broke his own 50-mile TT Irish record last Wednesday night, continued his winning form by setting a course record of 18:34 at the 10-mile TT in Eglinton, County Derry, today. The event, which was hosted by Foyle Cycling Club, saw an impressive field of 70 riders compete across all disciplines. With a strong southerly wind aiding riders on the return journey to the finish, Christie mastered the circuit and had almost two minutes to spare on Chris Hutchinson of Team Madigan in second place with 20:32, and Christian Nachtigall from Belfast club Phoenix, completing the Senior Men's medal list.

However as this was the Ulster Championships there were a number of other medal winners. There was a  close fought battle in the women's competition with Eileen Burns of Ballymena CRC fighting it our with Claire McIlwaine of Phoenix CC. In the end only one second separated the two women with Burns getting the decision over McIlwaine with her 22:24. McIlwaine took silver with bronze going to Karen Hull of Phoenix CC.

There were three women entered in the Veteran Women's category with Jane Millar of Bann Wheelers taking first place ahead of Phoennix CC's Judith Russell and Joann Regan of Termoneeny.

Only three juniors took part in the Championship with Zeno Young of Powerhouse Sport getting the verdict over Nathan Weir of Harps CC with his 20:33.  Fergus Byrne of Bann Valley RC was third.

In the men's M40 category it was Carn Wheelers, Ali Gribbon, who took Gold with 20:51 ahead of  North Down's John Rafferty on 21:31 and Ivan Reid of Omagh Wheelers with 21:35. The M50 class went to John Madden of Inspired Cycling who recorded a 20:45. Des Woods of Newry Wheelers took silver with 21: 24 while Sharman Crawford of Bann Wheelers lifted bronze with 21:59.

Sean Hargan of Phoenix CC has had a temendous year and took Gold in the M60 category with a 22:37 ahead of TT faithful Dominic Drumm of Bann Wheelers and Shay Giles of VC Elan.

Carn Wheelers lifted the Ulster Team TT Championship medals.

Foyle Cycling Club PRO, Ronan Gallagher, commented: 'It was a fantastic day's racing and with such a powerful rider as Marcus Christie in the field, the bar has now been set higher for other riders to compete.'

With the Ulster Road Championships due in the County Derry village in September, Christie will be the man to beat and it will be interesting to see Eileen Burn and Claire McIwaine go head to head again.

Foyle CC promoted an excellent event with lots of refreshments following the event which was greatly appreciated by riders and officials alike. Many thanks to all concerned.

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Full Results can be downloaded HERE

Pics by Alicia can be found HERE

31/07/2016 Ulster 10m TT Championships Eglinton
1 CHRISTIE Marcus Male Asea MSNR 18:34
2 HUTCHINSON Chris Male Team Madigan MSNR 20:32
3 YOUNG Xeno Male Powerhouse MJNR 20:33
4 NACHTIGALL Christian Male Phoenix CC MSNR 20:37
5 MADDEN John Male Inspired Cycling M50 20:45
6 GRIBBON Ali Male Carn Wh M40 20:51
7 SERGEANT Mark Male Keevan MSNR 21:03
8 MCKEE Erwin Male VC Mourne MSNR 21:06
9 MCCRORY Joseph Male Carn Wh MSNR 21:08
10 WOODS Des Male Newry Wh M50 21:24
11 WEIR Nathan Male Harps MJNR 21:29
12 DALY Daniel Male Phoenix CC MSNR 21:31
12 RAFFERTY John Male NDCC M40 21:31
12 SCULLION Michael Male Carn Wh MSNR 21:31
15 REID Ivan Male Omagh Wh CC M40 21:35
15 STENSON Paul Male EACC M40 21:35
17 BIRNEY Christopher Male Sportactive MSNR 21:36
18 DEVLIN Rory Male Caldwell Cycles MSNR 21:42
19 BURNS Jason Male Ballymena MSNR 21:43
19 LAGAN Damien Male Inishowen M40 21:43
21 MCCARTER Darragh Male Donegal Bay CC MSNR 21:44
22 WEBB Johnny Male NDCC M40 21:50
23 MCVEAGH Ciaran Male Phoenix CC MSNR 21:53
24 CRAWFORD Sharman Male Bann Wh M50 21:59
25 WITHERS Patrick Male Fintona/West Tyrone Velo MSNR 22:05
26 HEAGNEY David Male Carn Wh MSNR 22:08
27 HOWE Glen Male Bann Wh M40 22:20
28 DEVINE Adrian Male Foyle M40 22:23
29 BURNS Eileen Female Ballymena WSNR 22:24
30 MCILWAINE Claire Female Phoenix CC WSNR 22:25
31 DOHERTY Brendan Male Foyle M40 22:26
32 KINCH Ciara Female Orwell WVTR-LEIN 22:28
33 MCCROSSAN Kevin Male Four Masters M50 22:33
34 MULLAN Stephen Male NDCC MSNR 22:34
35 HARGAN Sean Male Phoenix CC M60 22:37
36 MCGOWAN John Male Foyle MSNR 22:41
37 MURRAY Josh Male Maryland MSNR 22:42
38 KEENAN Seamus Male Omagh Wh CC M50 22:44
39 BYRNE Fergus Male Bann Valley MJNR 22:47
40 HENRY Jason Male U/A M40 22:50
41 GILL Simon Male Foyle M40 22:51
42 DOHERTY Brendan Male SaddleRock MSNR 22:59
43 DRUMM Dominic Male Bann Wh M60 23:02
44 MCFADDEN Sammy Male Foyle M50 23:05
45 MCGREADY Colin Male Dromara M50 23:08
45 MCLOUGHLIN Noel Male Island Wh M50 23:08
47 MCCOURT Brendan Male Northern M50 23:20
48 QUIGLEY John Male Foyle MSNR 23:22
49 MILLAR Jane Female Bann Wh WVTR 23:33
50 GILES Shay Male VC Elan M60 23:38
51 RUSSELL Judith Female Phoenix CC WVTR 23:52
52 O'CONNOR Doc Male Square Wheels M40 23:53
53 HULL Karen Female Phoenix CC WSNR 24:06
54 REGAN Joanne Female Termoneeny WVTR 24:26
55 MCCOLLUM Robert Male Four Masters M50 24:46
56 NUGENT John Male Four Masters M60 25:50
57 BLAIR Laura Female Ballymena WSNR 25:51
58 FULLERTON Carl Male NDCC M60 27:46
59 RUSSELL Barry Male Carn Wh M40 32:30
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.