Ulster Cycling News

03/07/2016 Ulster 50 Mile TT Championship – Woodgreen

Christie Crowned Ulster 50 Mile TT Champion
The 50 mile TT Ulster Championships hosted by Maryland Wheelers were held in conjunction with the Tommy Givan TT Cup  on the fast Woodgreen course today. Twenty nine riders set about achieving their own personal goals in conditions which competitors confirmed were less than favourable. A blustery wind made a hard day in the saddle even more difficult but the silver lining was that the rain stayed away.

However, there were some great times and it was the current Irish 50TT record holder Marcus Christie (ASEA) who claimed the top honours with a time of 1:43:11.


Silver Medallist in the senior open men's and the only other rider to break the 1hr 50 min barrier was Chris Hutchinson (Madigan) clocking 1:48:03. The current Irish M50 Road Race Champion John Madden (Inspired Cycling) claimed the bronze medal with 1:50:57.  Paul Carroll (Velo Cafe Magasin) secured fourth overall with 1:51:02.

Tommy Givan 50TT-6

In the women's competition it was Joanne Regan (Termoneey CC) who was quickest on the day, completing the distance in 2:10:23 which secured the gold medal. Next fastest was Karen Hull (Phoenix) claiming the silver with 2:13:18. Due to the new Cycling Ulster guidelines the bronze was not contested as only four ladies signed on.


The Masters 50 category was a non starter due to only two riders starting. These riders were then assigned to the Masters 40 category. This did have an impact on the overall medals being awarded as John Madden won the gold medal pushing Paul Carroll and Barry Hayes (Island Wheelers CC) 1:54:18  into silver and bronze respectively.

Again four riders started the Masters 60 category which determined that gold and silver medals would only be presented. It was the current Irish M60 RR Champion, Sean Hargan (Phoenix) who took the gold home with 1:58:23, this pushed Michael Carroll (BRC) 2:01:18 into the silver medal.

Last medals to be awarded were for the team prizes. Unfortunately there were no women's team participating this year. In the men's competition there were three teams and it was the team of Velo Café Magasin comprising of Paul Carroll, Mark Millar and Peter Morrison who put in a collective time of 5:43:57 to secure the gold medal.

Maryland would like to extend a word of thanks to Gordon and Ali Parker for their dedicated and professional approach to managing those all important time recordings.

Tommy Givan 50TT-3

Report and pictures  by Mark Greer Maryland Wheelers

More pics can be found on Gordon Parker's Facebook Page.

03/07/2016 Results Ulster 50m TT Championship
Senior Men

  1. Marcus Christie (Asea wheelworx)
  2. Chris Hutchinson (Team Madigan)
  3. John Madden (Inspired Cycling)

Masters 40

  1. John Madden (Inspired Cycling)
  2. Paul Carroll (Velo Café Magasin)
  3. Barry Hayes (Island Wheelers)

Masters 50

No Contest

Masters 60

  1. Sean Hargan (Phoenix CC)
  2. Michael Carroll (Ballymena CRC)


  1. Joanne Regan (Termoneeny CC)
  2. Karen Hull (Phoenix CC)

Team Event

Velo Cafe Magasin (P. Carroll, M. Millar & P. Morrison)Tommy Givan 50TT-16 Full Results

1 Marcus Christie Team ASEA Wheelworx 01:43:11
2 Chris Hutchinson Team Madigan 01:48:03
3 John Madden Inspired Cycling 01:50:57
4 Paul Carroll Velo Café Magasin 01:51:02
5 Joe McCrory Carn Wheelers 01:52:49
6 Christian Nachtigall Phoenix CC 01:53:44
7 Barry Hayes Island Wheelers 01:54:18
8 Mark Millar Velo Café Magasin 01:56:27
9 Peter Morrison Velo Café Magasin 01:56:28
10 I McKee Velo Café Magasin 01:58:00
11 Sean Hargan Phoenix CC 01:58:23
12 Daniel Daly Phoenix CC 01:58:59
13 Kevin Egan Velo Café Magasin 01:59:24
14 Jason Henry U/A 02:00:04
15 Micky Carroll Ballymena CRC 02:01:18
16 Dominic Drumm Bann Wheelers 02:01:40
17 Edward Kearney Phoenix CC 02:02:37
18 Andrew Evans Killinchy CC 02:09:41
19 Mark Watson Ards CC 02:09:50
20 Joanne Regan Termonneeny CC 02:10:23
21 Kenneth Brewster Team Madigan 02:11:02
22 Phil Beattie Banbridge CC 02:11:51
23 Karen Hull Phoenix CC 02:13:18
24 Lisa Lamont Madigan 02:14:48
25 C Cardwell TTC ?? 02:25:59
26 Glen Pollock 02:27:03

Tommy Givan 50TT-23

Tommy Givan 50TT-24

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.