Ulster Cycling News

Douglas Wins Lurgan Criterium

aLast night Clann Eireann CC promoted a very successful criterium around the streets of Lurgan for Youth and A4 riders. The senior race for A4's provided an opportunity for many newcomers as well as experienced riders to have a go at this form of racing. Crit racing requires good bike handling skills and the ability to negotiate corners.

Brandon Douglas of West Down Wheelers certainly showed that he had skills aplenty when he won the event from Gavin Moore of North Down CC and Paul Smith of the recently formed Portadown Cycling Club.  Darryl Northrop (Phoenix CC), Robin Wilson (Ards CC) and Joshua Daly of VC Iveagh completed the top six.


In true Clann Eireann style however the the Youth racing probably took centre stage and there was racing for all age groups including two novice events. The Doogan brothers from Errigal CC dominated the U16 and U14 events with PJ taking the win in the U16's and Odhran winning the U14. Will Ryan of Kanturk made the long journey worthwhile by taking second from Shay Donley of Ballymoney in the U16race. In the U14 race it was  Phoenix CC's, Ciaran Dixon who ousted Madigan's Chris Donald Madigan for second place.


In the U12 event Shea O'Kane of Phoenix CC emerged as victor from Darren Rafferty (Island Wheelers) and Scott Roberts of XMTB McConvey Cycles. There was a good turnout for the novices so Clann Eireann split them into two groups. Congratulations to all the young riders in both groups who took part.

Clann Eireann pulled out all the stops to provide a great night's racing for everyone. Thanks also to Commissaire on the night, James McLaughlin.


Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics courtesy Toby Watson

Results Lurgan Criterium Friday 24 June 2016

A4 Race

1. Brandon Douglas West Down
2. Gavin Moore North Down CC
3. Paul Smith Portadown CC
4. Darryl Northrop Phoenix CC
5. Robin Wilson Ards CC
6. Joshua Daly VC Iveagh

Under 16
1. P J Doogan Errigal CC
2.Will Ryan Kanturk.
3. Shea Donley Ballymoney CC

Under 14
1.Odhran Doogan Errigal CC
2.Ciaran Dixon Phoenix CC
3.C Donald Madigan

Under 12
1.Shea O'Kane Phoenix CC
2.Darren Rafferty Island Wheelers
3.Scott Roberts XMTB McConvey Cycles

11 (2)

Novices "A"
1.Adam Rafferty Island Wheelers
2.Zoe Lindsay Dromore CC
3.R McBride.

Novices "B"
1.Frankie O'Neill Clann Eireann.
2.Aoife Craig VC Glendale
3.Erin Melanophie Clann Eireann






Filed under: Crit, Youth Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.