Ulster Cycling News

McElderry and Thompson Take Coleraine by Storm

7Last night Bann Wheelers promoted their criterium around the streets of Coleraine on  a cool but dry evening. There was a good turnout for both races. The first race of the evening was for the A4's and in this event the home club were very much to the fore and in the end took three of the top six places.

Michael Thompson (Bann Wheelers) proved to be the strongest rider on the night taking the win from club-mate Rhodri Jones (Bann Wheelers)  and Luke McMullen (Ballymena Road Club). This is McMullan's second podium spot in a week in crit racing so it seems he must have a talent for it and I am sure we will hear more of him in the coming weeks. Charles Wright (Bann Wheelers), Declan O'Neill (Square Wheels) and Jason McIntyre (U/A )  completed the top six.


In the A2/A3 race there was aggressive riding from the start with riders trying to break clear. In the end it was Maryland Wheelers', Colin McElderry who managed to out sprint the opposition to take the win. Gerard McNally of Bann Valley took second and he is another rider who has been appearing in the results over recent weeks. A delighted Colin McCloskey of Apollo CT was third ahead of Alastair Robinson (U/A). James Wilson (Apollo CT)  and Sean Bradley (Carn Wheelers) completed the top six.


Many thanks to all at Bann Wheelers who turned out in force to help out, marshalll and participate.This was a well run event with only a minor mishap towards the end. Thanks also to dedicated Comm Andrew Wills who was on hand to ensure that everything ran according to the rules.

Report Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics courtesy Richard Millar

Coleraine Criterium Thursday 16th June 2016

Results A2/3 Race

  1. Colin McElderry  (Maryland Wheelers)
  2. Gerard McNally (Bann Valley)
  3. Colin McCloskey (Apollo CT)
  4. Alastair Robinson (U/A  )
  5. James Wilson (Apollo CT)
  6. Sean Bradley (Carn Wheelers)

Results A4 Race

  1. Michael Thompson (Bann Wheelers)
  2. Rhodri Jones (Bann Wheelers)
  3. Luke McMullen (Ballymena Road Club)
  4. Charles Wright (Bann Wheelers)
  5. Declan O'Neill (Square Wheels)
  6. Jason McIntyre (U/A )
Filed under: Crit Leave a comment
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.