Ulster Cycling News

Wilson Smashes 10 Record In Ulster Championships

Lisburn’s Heather Wilson (Maryland Wheelers) set a new All Ireland Women’s record for the 10 mile distance with a stunning time of 22-01 in last night’s Ulster Time Trial Championship’s at Woodgreen, Ballymena. Aghoghill’s Ryan Connor who competes professionally for the Sean Kelly Racing Team based in Belgium, returned home for the event and was rewarded with gold in the Senior event clocking 19-24, over a minute faster than second placed Jonathan Dempsey (East Antrim). Ards rider Lennie Kirk (Slane Cycles), who recently competed in the World Masters Championships in Austria, won the Veteran’s Martin Birney Championship Cup ahead of Ards CC duo Ivan Robinson and Michael Rowan. Lurgan teenager Thomas Martin (Clann Eireann-Linen Green) was the best of the Juniors scoring an emphatic win over Simon Williams (Orchard Wheelers) and Conor McAllister (Ballymena R.C.).With just one more event remaining the Cycling Ulster-Dave Kane Cycles TT League, Stuart Bennett’s (Phoenix CC) bronze medal ride of 20.38 saw him move one step closer to winning the league outright.
New Tandem Record: Tommy Evans/Roger Aiken 19.04
RESULTS: Ulster 10 Mile TT Championship
1.Ryan Connor Sean Kelly Team 19.24
2.Jonathan Dempsey East Antrim 20.29
3.Stuart Bennett Phoenix 20.38
4.Lennie Kirk Slane Cycles 20.43
5Simon Thompson Maryland 20.50
6.Mark Greer Maryland 20.58
7.Ivan Robinson Ards 21.03
8.Michael Rowan Ards 21.05
9.Thomas Martin Clann Eireann 21.08
10.Ernie Magwood East Tyrone 21.09

Womens Championship
1.Heather Wilson (Maryland) 22.01
2.Kay Hack (Bann Wheelers) 24.46
3.Edel Savage (Newry) 25.17

Non Provincial Entry Louise Moriarty (Dublin) 22.08

Junior Championship
1. Thomas Martin (Clann Eireann) 21.08
2. Simon Williams (Orchard Wheelers) 22.09
3. Conor McAllister (Ballymena) 22.14

Veterans Championship (Martin Birney Cup)
1. Lennie Kirk (Slane Cycles) 20.43
2. Ivan Robinson (Ards CC) 21.03
3. Michael Rowan (Ards CC) 21.05

For full result sheet use TT League Button on left.
Many thanks to Gordon Parker, Martin Lees, Nino Braik, Bob Graham and Marian who ensured that tonight's championship was a truly memorable event.


Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.