Ulster Cycling News

Bann Wheelers 50th Anniversary Race a Great Success

aOn Saturday Bann Wheelers held their first open road race in a number of years The event was held to mark the club’s fiftieth anniversary. Unfortunately there was another race on the same day namely the West Down GP which saw slightly reduced numbers at both venues. Despite this there was hard racing at the Bann Wheelers event with Christopher Birney of SportActive getting the result in the combined A2/A3 race. He was followed in by James Wilson of Apollo CT and Aaron Park of CCT. Aaron has been knocking on the door of a podium place for some time so this third place is not unexpected.


Bobby Kane of Bann Wheelers, Gerard Scullion (Carn Wheelers) and Mark Johnston of the home club were next over the line. Keith Phillips (North Down CC), Marc Heaney (NRPT), Kenny Wilson (East Antrim CC) and Ryan Jamison (Causeway CC) completed the top ten

A2 A3 sprint for 2nd

In the A4 race it was Mark Maguire of Castlereagh CC who had the legs to take the win from Bann Wheelers CC Michael Thompson in a close two-up sprint.



Another Bann rider, Malcolm Scott was third. Alistair Robinson (Un-Attached Ulster), Gavin Moore (North Down CC), Stephen Mullan (North West Cycling Club), Noel Brian MacDiarmada (Errigal Cycling Club), Jason McIntyre (Un-Attached Ulster),  Adrian Kane (Bann Wheelers) and Vincent Mort (Ballycastle CC) made up the top ten.

A4 - 6

In the Masters event it was Derek Ferguson of Kings Moss who notched up yet another win following on from his success in Carndonagh last week. Sean Wright of Ballymena took second ahead of Brian Bonnar of Bann Wheelers. Hs club-mate David Park took fourth ahead of Kevin McGlynn of Donegal Bay. Robert Fleming (Causeway CC) was sixth.


Joanne Regan of Termoneeny lifted the prize in the women’s category.

Feedback from the event was very positive and Bann Wheelers did a great job organising and marshalling all the races. There was also a great spread of food back at the hall afterwards. Many thanks to all concerned and to the commissaires on the day. Hopefully next year Bann Wheelers will build on this success and get a date free from other races.


Marian Lamb UCN: marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Finish Line Pics courtesy Ian Barfoot, Finish Line Photographer

Action Pics Adrian Kane

Video Courtesy Jonny Collins HERE

Bann Wheelers Races Saturday 21st May 2016
s Race Result

  1. Derek Ferguson (Kingsmoss CC)
  2. Sean Wright (Ballymena CRC)
  3. Brian Bonnar (Bann Wheelers)
  4. David Park (Bann Wheelers)
  5. Kevin McGlynn (Donegal Bay)
  6. Robert Fleming (Causeway CC)Ladies - Joanne Regan



A2/A3 Race

  1. Christopher Birney (Team Sportactive Racing)
  2. James Wilson (Apollo CT)
  3. Aaron Parks (CCT)
  4. Bobby Kane (Bann Wheelers CC)
  5. Gerard Scullion (Carn Wheelers)
  6. Mark Johnston (Bann Wheelers CC)
  7. Keith Phillips (North Down CC)
  8. Marc Heaney (NRPT)
  9. Kenny Wilson (East Antrim CC)
  10. Ryan Jamison (Causeway CC)


A2 A3 - 1

A2 A3 - over the Cam

A4 Race

  1. Mark Maguire (Castlereagh CC)
  2. Michael Thompson (Bann Wheelers Ccv
  3. Malcolm Scott (Bann Wheelers CC)
  4. Alistair Robinson (Un-Attached Ulster)
  5. Gavin Moore (North Down CC)
  6. Stephen Mullan (North West Cycling Club)
  7. Noel Brian MacDiarmada (Errigal Cycling Club)
  8. Jason McIntyre (Un-Attached Ulster)
  9. Adrian Kane (Bann Wheelers)
  10. Vincent Mort (Ballycastle CC)

A4 - 1

A4 - 1a

A2 catching A3

Laurence Bradley - BWCC Race Secretary

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.