Ulster Cycling News

Ulster Riders Show their Calibre at Shay Elliott

aOn Sunday one of the biggest one day classics took place around Wicklow taking in several famous climbs such as that at Glenmalure. This race, run in memory of the famous Shay Elliott, and promoted by Bray Wheelers, is one on every rider's list of one to win. On Sunday this wish came true for Ulster rider Marc Potts of Neon Velo. Marc who hails from Omagh went clear in the first twenty kilometres with a small group of riders which included Conor Hennebry (Aquablue), Niall Clarke (ASEA-Wheelworx) and Paul Kennedy (Newcastle West CC).

This group opened up a gap on the peloton but another group soon developed to give chase. This group included two Ulster riders David Hamilton of North Down and Craig McAuley of Caldwell Cycles. Eoin Morton (UCD CC), Ronan O’Flynn (Orwell Wheelers) and Bryan McCrystal (ASEA-Wheelworx) made up the rest of the chase group. After the climb of Glenmalure Potts put down the hammer and McAuley gave chase. The two riders were off on their own and working well stayed away from all chasers. Coming to the line it was Potts who had the legs to take the win, probably the biggest of his career so far. McAuley had to be content with second. Marc Potts also took the King of the Mountains Jersey.


Both Potts and McAuley are graduates of the Belgian Project run by Dany Blondeel of Ards CC. This project gives young riders a chance to gain experience of racing in Belgium is a family atmosphere. I am sure Dany is delighted with the progress his protégées have made.


Other Ulster riders to do well in the event were Darnell Moore of Caldwell Cycles who came fourth and David Hamilton (North Down) who was eighth.

Bray Wheelers also held a separate race for A3 and Junior riders. Again it was an Ulster rider who came to the fore, namely Jake Grey who rides for the NRPT magnet.ie outfit.


We would like to congratulate these and all other Ulster riders who took part in the event.

Report Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Excellent Pics courtesy of Sean Rowe unless otherwise stated.

Shay Elliott Memorial Classic Sunday, May 15th 2016

A1-A2 Race

  1. Marc Potts Neon Velo
  2. Craig McAuley Caldwell Cycles, Omagh
  3. Conor Hennebry Aquablue
  4. Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles, Omagh
  5. Sean Lacey Aquablue
  6. Mark Dowling ASEA-Wheelworx
  7. Eoin Morton UCD CC-Fitzcycles.ie
  8. David Hamilton North Down CC
  9. Sean McKenna Aquablue
  10. Niall Clarke ASEA-Wheelworx
  • Sprint: Joseph Breheny UCD-Fitzcycles.ie
  • KOM: Marc Potts Neon-Velo


A3 Race

  1. Jake Gray NRPT-Magnet.ie
  2. Aaron Kearney NRPT-Magnet.ie
  3. Ben Walsh NRPT-Magnet.ie
  4. Luke Smith NRPT-Magnet.ie
  5. Eoghan McLoughlin Westport Covey Wheelers
  6. Conor Leech Clonard RC
  7. Aureliusz Klus Stamullen RC
  8. Eoin Byrne Scott Orwell Wheelers

First woman: Aideen Keenan Scott Orwell Wheelers









Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.