Ulster Cycling News

Hard Racing at Carndonagh

aSaddlerock CC ran a superb set of races on Sunday with events for U12's up to Elites and Masters. The course was that used for the National B Championships a few years ago which is a rolly course of twenty miles taking riders through beautiful but bleak countryside and past several lakes. While the day dawned fine and sunny it was cool and there were strong winds out along the course which never seemed to be of any advantage to the riders. The U12 and U14 youth riders competed on a shorter course.

In the U12 event Adam McKeever of AAA Cycling emerged as a winner ahead of Ciara Kelly (North Pole CC) while Cora Harkin (Errigal CC) was third with Chantel Smyth of North Pole was fourth. In the U14 event it was Odhran Doogan of Errigal who showed his strength to take the win from Joseph Reid (Donegal Bay) and Ciaran McGettigan (Errigal CC). Clodagh Gallagher of AAA Cycling was first Girl.


Unfortunately there were only two U16's who went off with the Masters race. They fought hard despite the lack of numbers and in the end Michael McGlynn (Errigal CC) just pipped Oisin Doherty (AAA) to take the win.



The Masters event saw the riders complete two laps of the tough course. From the off the hammer went down splitting the field. Derek Ferguson of Kings Moss rode the race of his life to take a well deserved first place.


He was followed in by Raymond Doherty of Finn Wheelers and Kevin McCrossan of Four Masters. Eamon Toland of Strabane Lifford rode well to take fifth ahead of Finbar Doey of Dunloy CC.


Carl Fullerton of North Donegal Cycling managed to take good 'scalps' on the day by beating the famous Willie John McLaughlin of North Donegal CC and Tommy Lamb of Phoenix CC.


There was a smaller than usual crowd than usual for the remaining races with the A race for A1's and 2's only attracting twelve riders. This meant that the riders had to do the full course with only a maximum of three points at stake. The lower numbers in this race may have meant that many were away  to the Shay Elliott.

Ronan McLaughlin of Foyle attacked from the gun and went clear, quickly opening up a sizeable gap on the main chasers who included Cathal Smyth (Phoenix CC), Jonny Taylor (Carn Wheelers), Chris Birney (SportActive), Jonny Dooey (Dunloy CC and Mark McClure of Caldwell Cycles.


In the end McLaughlin proved to be unstoppable and took and an easy win.


Smyth blew in the last lap and second place went to Jonny Taylor who is improving all the time. Dooey of Dunloy was third ahead of McClure of Caldwell.


The A4 race stayed together for much of the time and although a few riders tried to break away no real gaps appeared. The cross winds along the course made riding in the bunch a slightly more attractive option.


In the end the win was taken by David Dalrymple of DCU. This sees David now move into the ranks of the A3's. Second across the line was Foyle's Thomas McLaughlin while third place went to Francis Cassidy of Donegal Bay CC.


John McDermott (Omagh Wheelers), Ronald McDaid (Saddle Rock CC), Noel McDermot (Errigal CC), Shane McNeill (Ballycastle CC) and Ciaran Donnelly (Termon Wheelers) completed the top eight for points while Brendan Doherty (Saddlerock CC) and Rodger McCauley (Donegal Bay CC) made up the top ten.

The A3's had three laps of the course to complete and at first the peloton remained intact.


In the A3 race a small break developed in the last lap and this was maintained to the line. It was another DCU rider, Bennett Thomson who sailed to victory in this race.


He was well ahead of chasers Calvin Moore (Caldwell Cycles), Eugene Mc Gettigan (Errigal CC) and Danny Doherty (Four Masters). Connor McCarroll (Clogher Valley Wheelers was fifth ahead of Foyle's Daniel Logue. Bernard McCullogh (Caldwell Cycles), Michael Doherty (Inishowen Wheelers), Peter Moore (Strabane Lifford) and Mitchell McLaughlin of Errigal completed the top ten.


Back at Cardonagh GAA there was  warm Donegal welcome for all riders, spectators and officials with loads of tasty sandwiches, an array of different breads and scones as well a feast of sweet delights. The catering crew worked really hard to ensure everyone was well fed. The whole event was extremely well run with lots of interclub co-operation ensuring that every junction was well marshalled with lot of lead cars and motorbike outriders. The finish line was well barriered off to ensure the safety of riders and spectators. There as a lot of warning and distance marking signage on the whole route and Saddlerock C are to be congratulated on promoting such an excellent event. It is a pity that they did not get the turn-out that they deserved. Perhaps next year more riders will consider making the journey up to Carndonagh.


Many thanks to all at Saddlerock and also to Commssaires on the day Jim Maguire and Paul Devenney.


Report and Pics Marian Lamb UCN: marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Saddle Rock Cycling Club Road Race Results 15/5/2016

A1, A2 Race

1 Ronan McLaughlin Foyle CC
2 Johnny Taylor Carn Wheelers
3 Jonny Dooey Dunloy CC
4 Mark McClure Caldwell Cycles Omagh
5 Chris Birney Sport Active
6 Ray Kerr Lakeland CC
7 Rodney Orr Caldwell Cycles Omagh
8 Damian Lagan Inishowen Wheelers
9 Rory Devlin Caldwell Cycles Omagh
10 Cathal Smyth Phoenix CC


A3 race

1 Bennett Thomson Dublin University CC
2 Calvin Moore Caldwell Cycles Omagh
3 Eugene Mc Gettigan Errigal CC
4 Danny Doherty Four Masters
5 Connor McCarroll Clogher  Valley Wheelers
6 Daniel Logue Foyle CC
7 Bernard McCullagh Caldwell Cycles Omagh
8 Michael Doherty Inishowen Wheelers
9 Peter Moore Strabane Lifford
10 Mitchell McLaughlin Errigal CC

A4 Race

1 David Dalrymple Dublin University CC
2 Thomas McLaughlin Foyle CC
3 Francis Cassidy Donegal Bay CC
4 John McDermott Omagh Wheelers
5 Ronald McDaid Saddle Rock CC
6 Noel McDermott Errigal CC
7 Shane McNeill Ballycastle CC
8 Ciaran Donnelly Termon Wheelers
9 Brendan Doherty Saddlerock CC
10 Rodger McCauley Donegal Bay CC

Masters Race

1 Derek Ferguson Kings Moss CC
2 Raymond Doherty Finn Wheelers
3 Kevin McCrossan Four Masters CC
4 Eamon Toland Strabane Lifford CC
5 Finbar  Dooey Dunloy CC


U16 Race

1 Michael McGlynn Errigal CC
2 Oisin Doherty AAA

U14 Race

1 Odhran Doogan Errigal CC
2 Joseph Reid Donegal Bay CC
3 Ciaran McGettigan Errigal CC
4 William Callaghan North Pole CC
5 Donal Walsh AAA Cycling
6 Clodagh Gallagher AAA Cycling

U12 Race

1 Adam McGeever AAA Cycling
2 Ciara Kelly North Pole CC
3 Cora Harkin Errigal CC
4 Chantel Smyth North Pole CC







Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.