Ulster Cycling News

Tommy Givan Memorial Provides Exciting Racing

Adam WaThe Tommy Givan Memorial Road Races, promoted by Maryland Wheelers got off to a fine start this morning as the sun shone and the roads were dry. First off were the U16's who were competing for the McCann Givan U16 Trophy. There was some aggressive riding but Adam Ward of Omagh Wheelers emerged as the eventual winner.

Shay Donley (Ballymoney CC) was second with Liam Hanley (Lucan CC) in third. Nathan Keown (North Down CC) and Rob Lawrence (Bann Valley RC) completed the line up for prizes. In the Under 16 girls competition it was Amanda Gallagher (Caldwell Cycles) who go the decision ahead of Katie Armstrong (North Down CC). Adam Ward was also presented with the Bike Work sponsored award for most aggressive rider.

There was a good field for the women's race with riders traveling up from the south to take part. The bunch stayed mainly together on the rolly circuit with Claire McIlwaine of Phoenix CC getting the win ahead of Orla Montague of Dublin Wheelers. Katharine Smyth (Team Madigan) took yet another podium place by coming in third while Fiona Guihen (Irish Centre for Cycling) was fourth.


Mairead McCrory of Carn Wheelers was fifth and Catherine McAteer of Garda Cycling Club lifted the Bike Work prize for the most aggressive rider.

The A4 riders had to complete five laps of the nine mile circuit. There were several attempts by individual riders to get away. Among these were Shaun Byrne (Bann Valley RC), Kevin Egan (Velo Café Magasin) and Rónán Kernon (Castlereagh CC). However no rider or group were allowed to get more than 100 metres from the bunch before they were swallowed up again.

A4 againa

shaunaIn the end the race came down to a bunch sprint which was taken in fine style by Bann Valley's newcomer, Junior Shaun Byrne. This win also sees Shaun move up into the ranks of the A3's. Second place went to Ivan Cooke (Kings Moss CC) with James Carmody (Apollo CT) taking third. Martin Fitzpatrick (Banbridge CC), Stevie Baines (Spinning Studio Banbridge) and Darren Toombs (U/A) completed the top six.

Daryl Northrop (Phoenix CC) and Robin Wilson (Ards CC) took the final points of the race coming in seventh and eighth respectively.

A4 wina

There was a full field for the combined A1-A3 race in which riders completed seven laps of the circuit giving a total distance of just over 100km. Early into the race a break developed which was to prove significant. Among those in the break were Derek Finnegan (Keevan CC), James Ambrose (North Down CC), Jonny Taylor (Carn Wheelers), Paul Ferguson (Powerhouse Sport), Lewis Ferguson (North Down CC), Kevin Lynch (Newry Wheelers), Matt Adair (Banbridge CC), Emmet Vallely (Square Wheels), Chris McCann (Inspired Cycling) and Matthew Brennan (Ballymena CRC).

a1 buncha

Giving chase were riders such as Adam Armstrong (Team Asea), David McKnight (TVR), David Watson  (North Down CC) and Lindsay Watson of Plushmtb.


The break stayed fairly well together although at one point the hammer went down and both the group and the chasers were well strung out. This caused a few to be dropped from the break and others to joint it. This group then stayed away almost until the finish where a five man group break free before the finish line. Derek Finnegan of Keevan took the sprint from this group followed in by James Ambrose (North Down CC), Jonny Taylor (Carn Wheelers), Paul Ferguson (Powerhouse Sport) and Lewis Ferguson (North Down CC).

A1 wina

An on-form Kevin Lynch of Newry Wheelers took a solo sixth followed by Jason Henry (U/A) in seventh.


The remaining places for points were decided from the remains of the break with Adam Armstrong (Team Asea) getting the decision over Mark Millar (Velo Café Magasin) and David Watson (North Down CC). Ethan Fleville (Clann Eireann) was 1st Junior and eleventh overall, just missing out on the points.


A crash in the final lap of this race marred what was otherwise a great day out. As a result of the crash one rider was taken to hospital and we wish this rider a speedy recovery.

A buncha

May thanks to all the motor bike outriders, static marshall, judges and timekeepers and lead car drivers. Thanks also to the Commissaires on the day, Gabriel Bell, Martin Lees and James Maguire.Aologies Martin that I did not get your pic this time.


As usual Maryland Wheelers did not stint on the refreshments afterwards in the Hillsborough Village Hall so many thanks to all those who provided such a great assortment of sweet and savoury food.

A4 againa

Report and Pics Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

The Belgian Project Media Team were also onhand to take photos and lots of pics by them can be viewed HERE

Results Tommy Givan Memorial Road Race : 14th May 2016 : Hillsborough
A1- A3 Race

  1.  Derek Finnegan (Keevan CC)
  2. James Ambrose (North Down CC)
  3. Jonny Taylor (Carn Wheelers)
  4. Paul Ferguson (Powerhouse Sport)
  5. Lewis Ferguson (North Down CC)
  6. Kevin Lynch (Newry Wheelers)
  7. Jason Henry (U/A)
  8. Adam Armstrong (Team Asea)
  9. Mark Millar (Velo Café Magasin)
  10. David Watson (North Down CC)
  11. Ethan Fleville (Clann Eireann) and 1st Junior

a12 buncha

A4 Race

  1. Shaun Byrne (Bann Valley RC)
  2. Ivan Cooke (Kings Moss CC)
  3. James Carmody (Apollo CT)
  4. Martin Fitzpatrick (Banbridge CC)
  5. Stevie Baines (Spinning Studio Banbridge)
  6. Darren Toombs (U/A)
  7. Daryl Northrop (Phoenix CC)
  8. Robin Wilson (Ards CC)


The last two places for points are still to be confirmed

Women's Race

  1. Claire McIlwaine (Phoenix CC)
  2. Orla Montague (Dublin Wheelers)
  3. Katherine Smyth (Team Madigan)
  4. Fiona Guihen (Irish Centre for Cycling)
  5. Mairead McCrory (Carn Wheelers)


Bike Work Most Aggressive Rider : Mairead McCrory (Carn Wheelers)

McCann Given Under 16 Trophy

  1. Adam Ward (Omagh Wheelers)
  2. Shay Donley (Ballymoney CC)
  3. Liam Hanley (Lucan CC)
  4. Nathan Keown (North Down CC)
  5. Rob Lawrence(Bann Valley RC)

Under 16 Girls

  1. Amanda Gallagher(Caldwell Cycles)
  2. Katie Armstrong (North Down CC)

Bike Work Most Aggressive Rider : Adam Ward (Omagh Wheelers)

B buncha





Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.