Ulster Cycling News

Groucho GP Produces Top Class Racing

Following on from their successful promotion of the Amagh Criterium on Wednesday night, Orchard CC today ran their very popular Groucho GP. There were four races on offer and all four were hotly contested. The weather was disappointing to say the leas with wet and very cold conditions meeting the riders at the start of the event in the small Armagh town of Richhill.

In the A race for the A2 and A3 the race went from the gun over the rolly circuit. A small group got away which comprised Nathan Weir (Harps CC), Ciaran McVeigh (Phoenix CC), John McGlaughlin (CCT), Keith Phillips (North Down CC) and Conor McCann (Team Asea) among others. This group managed to stay away for a couple of laps but the fast moving peloton eventually caught them as they headed for the final climb into Richhill.

This was taken by Ciaran McVeigh of Phoenix Cc closely followed by second year Junior, Nathan Weir of Harps CC. John Buller (Banbridge CC), Conor McCann (Team Asea), Cameron McIntyre (NRPT) and Omagh wheeler's Davy McFall completed the top six.


Richard Maybin of Team Madigan out sprinted Keith Phillips of North Down CC for seventh while John McGlaughlin of CCT had to be satisfied with ninth. Dromara's Ronnie Smyth filled the final place for tenth.

In the A4 race it was Phil Bell North Down who beat Martin Colgan of Armagh Down in th final gallop for the line and he was followed in by Phoenix CC rider Pablo Alvarez  and Kings Moss's Ivan Cooke. Robert McDonald Dromara CC, Mark Gordon (Newry Wheelers), Michael Harkin (Killinchy CC), James Carmody (Apollo CT), David Browne (North Down CC) and Gavin Moore (North Down CC)  filled the top ten positions.

In the  Masters event it was Benny O'Kane of Square Wheels who topped the lineup followed in by North Down's Noel Boyce and Neil McCartan of Powerhouse Sport.


Katharine Smyth of Team Madigan dominated the Ulster Women's racing by taking the win in this event. Lorraine Mularky of Emyvale CC was second just ahead of Maeve McKenna of Clogher Valley Wheelers.


Orchard CC would like to thank everyone who helped out as well as everyone who braved the conditions today at Grouchos GP - riders, marshals, and those nice and warm in the cavalcade! Despite the weather it was a great day's racing. Thanks also to St Johns Ambulance, the PSNI, the sponsor, Shelbourne Motors, for the vehicles, and race sponsor Groucho's Bar.


Many riders have remarked on the efficient running of the race and that despite the harsh conditions that felt very safe. Orchard C, despite being a small club, really paid attention to details and organized a great race. There was also loads of food afterwards in Groucho's Bar. Well done to all at Orchard CC.

Marian Lamb UCN :marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Pics by the Belgian Project Media Team. More Pics by the team can be viewed HERE

An interview with the winner Ciaran McVeigh can be viewed HERE


Grouchos GP Saturday 7th May 2016

A2/A3 Race.

1. Ciaran McVeigh, Phoenix CC
2. Nathan Weir, Harps CC
3. John Buller, Banbridge CC
4. Conor McCann, Team Asea
5. Cameron McIntyre, NRPT
6. Davy McFall, Omagh CC
7. Richard Maybin, Team Madigan
8. Keith Phillips, North Down CC
9. John McGlaughlin, CCT
10. Ronnie Smyth, Dromara CC


A4 Race

1 Phil Bell North Down
2 Martin Colgan Armagh Down
3 Pablo Alvarez Phoenix CC
4 Ivan Cooke Kings Moss
5 Robert McDonald Dromara CC
6 Mark Gordon Newry Wheelers
7 Michael Harkin Killinchy CC
8 James Carmody Apollo CT
9 David Browne North Down CC
10 Gavin Moore North Down CC


Masters Race

1 Benny O'Kane Square Wheelers
2 Noel Boyce North Down CC
3 Neil McCartan Powerhouse Sport

Women's Race

1 Katharine Smyth Team Madigan
2 Lorraine Mularky Emyvale
3 Maeve McKenna Clogher Valley Wheelers




Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.