Ulster Cycling News

Hard Racing At PJ Logan Cup – Results Added

aIt was all hands to the deck today for Island Wheelers when they promoted their PJ Logan Cup. With four races in the afternoon they also promoted Youth racing in the morning when PJ Doogan made up for his mishaps yesterday by taking a win in the U16 event.

The A race for A1 and A2 riders which was a handicapped affair saw some very aggressive riding as the A1's put down the hammer to catch the A2's. Chris McGlinchey of Chain Reaction Cycles, fresh from his victory in Rá Mumhan was very much to the fore driving the A1's.


Ryan Bankhead of Ballymoney featured early on, opening up a gap on the main A2 bunch. He maintined this lead for two laps before being reeled in.


They eventually caught them within three laps. The hilly course took its toll on some riders but in the end it was the unstoppable McGlinchey who took the win from Glen Kinning of Kinning Cycles who battled all the way. Ryan Reilly of Foyle CC was third.


In the A3 race young North Down rider Andrew Chivers gave a spirited display of aggressive riding for two laps when he went free of the bunch.


Unfortunately he was caught after three laps by a small group of riders who had broken free of the hardchasing peloton.


The group included Marc Heaney of NRPT,  Harvey Barnes (East Tyrone CC), Liam Wilson (Powerhouse Sport), Conor McCann (ASEA-Wheelworx), Philip McCoubrey (Clogher Valley) as well as Andrew Chivers (North Down CC). The win finally went to young Junior, Marc Heaney of NRPT just ahead of Harvey Barnes of East Tyrone.


The A4 race sawa  full field take on the rolly course. The long drags saw a few riders getting dropped early on but in the main the peloton stayed together. The win was taken by Richard Maybin of Team Madigan who now joins the ranks of the A3's. He was followed in by Darren Weir (Spinning Studio Banbridge), Darren Toombes (Rouleur) and Sean Mullan (Clogher Valley), all of whom also move up to A3 following this result.


Antoine Le Carre (Causeway CC) was fifth ahead of Michael Hughes (Clogher Valley), Ronan Kernan (Castlereagh CC) and David Wright (Phoenix CC). Antoine will also join the A3 ranks.


The women's race saw Katharine Smith (Team Madigan) riding very strongly na dshe as always near the fromm ot the bunch. She eventually took the win from Claire O’Neil (Square Wheels) and Cristin O’Neill (Velo Cafe Magasin)
Maeve McKenna (Clogher Valley) has been featuring recently in the women's races and she came fourth ahead of Mairead McCrory (Carn Wheelers) and Lorraine Mullarkey (Emyvale CC)


The Masters had a a good field and all the strongmen were there. However it seems that Benny O'Kane of Square Wheels is unstoppable and depite hard riding by riders such as Seamus Walsh (Phoenix CC) and  Neil McCartan (Bann Wheelers) O'Kane took yet another win in the Master's League and must by now be almost uncatchable in the overall league.


Neil McCartan (Bann Wheelers) took second place ahead of Derek Ferguson (Kings Moss) and David Burnside (Dromore CC). Stephen Cardy (North Down CC) and John McCambridge (Apollo CTC) completed the top six.


The famous figure of eight circuit in this race presents its own problems but it was superbly marshalled and there were directional and warning signs everywhere. The race organisation was handled very professionally with a pre-race manual giving all the details and contact numbers. Arrangements had been made to take soup and sandwiches out to the hardworking marshalls and there was an excellent spread back at Gorgonis. Many thanks to Newells who sponsored the soup and other food. The soup was excellent and in plentiful supply and much appreciated by cold and hungry riders and supporters. Thanks also to the comms on the day.


Report and Pics Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Finish Line Pics by Belgian Project

A1-A2 Race
1 Chris McGlinchey (Chain Reaction)
2 Glenn Kinning (Kinning Cycles)
3 Ryan Reilly (Foyle CC)
4 Lindsey Watson (Plush MTB)
5 Ali Gribbon (Carn Wheelers)
6 David Hamilton (North Down CC)
7 Derek Finnegan (Keevan CC)
8 Niall Clarke (ASEA-Wheelworx)
9 Jonny Taylor (Carn Wheelers)
10 Paul Mulligan (Caldwell Cycles)


A3 Race
1 Marc Heaney (NRPT)
2 Harvey Barnes (East Tyrone CC)
3 Liam Wilson (Powerhouse Sport)
4 Conor McCann (ASEA-Wheelworx)
5 Philip McCoubrey (Clogher Valley)
6 Andrew Chivers (North Down CC)
7 Calvin Moore (Caldwell Cycles)
8 Conor Devlin (Island Wheelers)
9 Robert Greer (Apollo CT)
10 Colm Watson (VC Glendale)


A4 Race
1 Richard Maybin (Madigan)
2 Darren Weir (Spinning Studio Banbridge)
3 Darren Toombes (Rouleur)
4 Sean Mullan (Clogher Valley)
5 Antione Le Carre (Causeway CC)
6 Michael Hughes (Clogher Valley)
7 Ronan Kernan (Castlereagh CC)
8 David Wright (Phoenix CC)


Women’s Race

1 Katharine Smith (Team Madigan)
2 Claire O’Neil (Square Wheels)
3 Cristin O’Neill (Velo Cafe Magasin)
4 Maeve McKenna (Clogher Valley)
5 Mairead McCrory (Carn Wheelers)
6 Lorraine Mullarkey (Emyvale CC)


Masters Race
1 Benny O’Kane (Square Wheels)
2 Neil McCartan (Bann Wheelers)
3 Derek Ferguson (Kings Moss)
4 David Burnside (Dromore CC)
5 Stephen Cardy (North Down CC)
6 John McCambridge (Apollo CTC)




Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.