Ulster Cycling News

Watson in Top Form at Ciclisport

aDavid Watson of North Down showed no signs of tiredness after the weekend's Tour of the North when he romped home to victory in the Ciclisport GP promoted by East Tyrone CC.  He was quickly followed in by Aaron Swan of Ballymoney and David Hamilton of North Down who had a close battle for second and third.

In the A3 race it was the home favourite, Harvey Barnes who did not disappoint the punters as he  won the race just ahead of Conor McCann of Asea Wheelworx. This was a very tight finish and it was down to the camera to separate the riders.


Calvin Moore of Caldwell Cycles took third ahead of Gary McClure of Team Madigan.

In the A4 event it was Edward Kearney of Phoenix CC who got the verdict ahead of Shaun Byrne (Bann Valley) and John McRoberts of Banbridge CC.

The women's race formed part of the Ulster Women's Road Race series so was a hotly contested event. In the end it was won by Christen O’Neill (Velo Cafe Magasin). The real battle was for second which was taken by Claire O’ Neill (Square Wheels) from Maeve McKenna (Clogher Valley).


East Tyrone had a busy day as they also promoted Youth racing in the morning. In the U16 male event it was Shay Donely (Ballymoney CC) who took the win fromPJ Doogan (Errigal CC) and Ruaire Power (Caldwell Cycles). PJ had an unfortunate day puncturing at the wrong time and possibly costing him a win.

In the U14 male race it was Cathal Gallagher (Errigal CC) who pipped Darren Rafferty (Island Wheelers) for the win with Donal Walsh (AAA) taking third.

As usual East Tyrone had laid on a terrific spread of food from early morning and this was greatly appreciated by the riders and spectators. Many thanks to all of them and to all the car drivers, marshalls and officials who gave up their whole day to facilitate the safe runnng of these races. Thanks also to the Comms on the day.

Marian Lamb UCN : marianlamb@ulstercyclingnews.com

Finish Line Pics courtesy Ian Barfoot



4Results CicliSport GP Sat, April 2nd

Promoted by East Tyrone CC

CicliSport A1-A2 Race

  1. David Watson North Down CC
  2. Aaron Swan Ballymoney CC
  3. David Hamilton North Down CC
  4. Matthew Taggart AC. Bisontine
  5. Darnell Moore Caldwell Cycles
  6. Andrew Bye Newry Wheelers
  7. Ali Gribbon Carn Wheelers
  8. Ryan Reilly  Foyle CC
  9. Craig Rea Phoenix CC
  10. Mark McClure Caldwell Cycles


Ciclisport A3 Race

  1. Harvey Barnes East Tyrone CC
  2. Conor McCann ASEA
  3. Calvin Moore Caldwell Cycles
  4. Gary McClure  Team Madigan
  5. Robbie Doherty Ballymoney CC
  6. Dan Gordon VC Iveagh
  7. Philip McCoubrey Clogher Valley
  8. Conor Devlin Island wheelers
  9. Gerard McNally Bann Valley
  10. Stewart Thomson Spires CC

CicliSport A4 Race

  1. Edward Kearney Phoenix
  2. Shaun Byrne Bann Valley
  3. John McRoberts Banbridge CC
  4. Martin Fitzpatrick Banbridge Cc
  5. Ben Cady Velo Café Magasin
  6. John Morton Harps CC
  7. Mark Kendall Banbridge CC
  8. Brendan Carey Phoenix CC

Women’s Race

  1. Christen O’Neill (Velo Cafe Magasin)
  2. Claire O’ Neill (Square Wheels)
  3. Maeve McKenna (Clogher Valley)

U14 Results

  1.  Cathal Gallagher (Errigal CC)
  2. Darren Rafferty (Island Wheelers)
  3. Donal Walsh (AAA)

U16 Results

  1. Shay Donely (Ballymoney CC)
  2. PJ Doogan (Errigal CC)
  3. Ruaire Power (Caldwell Cycles)
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.