Ulster Cycling News

06/09/2015 Ulster 100m TT Championships

McIntyre fastest at the 100m TT despite crashing
Sean McIntyre (Caldwell Cycles) was fastest on 26 riders in today’s Ulster 100 mile time trial Championships held on the Woodgreen course near Ballymena.


Twenty six riders started the Ballymoney Cycling Club promotions in dry but breezy conditions. McIntyre's winning time of 3 hours 41 minutes 34 seconds was over two minutes faster than runner up Andrew Bye (Newry Wheelers), despite crashing and injuring his shoulder in the final miles of the race. Mervvn Linton of the host club took Bronze.


A notable prize winner was Donegal man Willie John McLaughlin (North Pole CC) who recorded a personal best to win the Male 70 category. Willie has competed in all seven of the 100 mile time trials since the revival of this distance back in 2009.



1st Sean McIntyre - Caldwell Cycles.
2nd Andrew Bye - Newry Wheelers
3rd Mervyn Linton - Ballymoney CC

Jennifer Ashby - Madigan CC

1st Barry Hayes - Island Wheelers
2nd John Rafferty - NDCC
3rd Brian McBride - Errigal CC

1st Patrick Morning - Four Masters
2nd Peter Dallat - Ballycastle CC

1st Sean Hargan - Phoenix RC
2nd Dominic Drum - Bann Wheelers
3rd Carl Fullerton - North Pole CC

Willie John McLaughlin - North Pole CC

Team winners
Velo Cafe Magasin
Joe Henry, Mark Millar, Mark Hanna.

Sean McIntyre Sen Orchard Wh 3:41:34
Andrew Bye Sen Newry Wh 3:44:11
Barry Hayes M40 Island Wh 3:45:15
Mervyn Linton Sen Ballymoney CC 3:46:01
Niall Clarke Cuchullain CC 3:47:02
Paul Stenson Sen Team Madigan 3:49:09
Mark Millar Sen Velo Café Magasin 3:52:24
Sean Hargan M60 Phoenix 3:52:33
Jason Burns Sen Ballymena RC 3:53:41
Stephen McAllister Sen Ballymoney CC 3:55:21
John Rafferty M40 North Down CC 4:01:36
Brian McBride Sen Errigal CC 4:05:53
Dominic Drumm M60 Bann Wh 4:10:45
Derek Ferguson Sen Kings Moss 4:13:57
Joe Henry Sen Velo Café Magasin 4:15:18
Mark Hanna Sen Velo Café Magasin 4:17:41
Paul Cunningham Sen Team Madigan 4:20:19
Ken Brewster Sen Team Madigan 4:22:24
George Boyd Sen Roe Valley CC 4:24:26
Patrick Morning M50 4 Masters CC 4:29:58
Jennifer Ashby W Team Madigan 4:40:50
Peter Dallat M50 Ballycastle CC 4:43:10
WJ McLaughlin M70 North Pole CC 4:48:29
Carl Fullerton M60 North Pole CC 4:57:13
M Millar Velo Café Magasin 3:52:24
J Henry Sen Velo Café Magasin 4:15:18
M Hanna Velo Café Magasin 4:17:41








Report by Brendan Kirk
Photos by Bronagh Kirk
More photos by Bronagh here

Posted by Martin Grimley (martin@ulsterxc.com)

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.