Ulster Cycling News

05/07/2015 Ulster 50m TT Championships – Tommy Givan Memorial

The Tommy Givan 50TT doubled up as the Ulster 50m TT Championship on Sunday the 5th July on the popular Woodgreen course. The event seen 40 entries on day the weather forecasters gave frequent heavy thundery showers, however it remained dry and quite warm. A tough headwind from Ballymena to Dunsilly was certainly the toughest stretch of the course where riders struggled to break 20 mph. On the other hand they took full advantage of the tailwind back to Ballymena.

Tommy Givan 50 TT-49

Amongst the entries were the strong tandem pairing of Ian Inglis and Aiden Reade who gave early indications that they were hoping to make an attempt at breaking the National Tandem 50 time trial record. They put in a fabulous performance to record a 1:49:13 which sets a new Irish 50 mile TT record, subject to the normal ratifications.

Tommy Givan 50 TT-42

It wasn't the only fast time of the day as the overall event winner, Sean McIntyre (Caldwell Cycles), recorded a 1:43:28 to take the Senior Men's Ulster title.  John Madden (Dig Deep Inspired Cycling) recorded a  1:45:53, and was third fastest and took the gold medal for the M50 Class. Fourth placed rider Mervyn Linton (Ballymoney CC) 1:51:14 took silver while Stephen Workman of Ballymena CRC took bronze.  Colm Cassidy (Aquablue), although not competing for the Ulster title, finished second in the overall competition with a 1:44:33.

In the women's competition local rider Eileen Burns (Ballymena RC) took the honours finishing with a 1:54:34 ahead of  Lisa Cameron of Team Madigan. Judith Russell (Phoenix CC) 2:08:44 took gold in the veteran women' s class with silver for Joanne Regan (Termoneeny CC) 2:17:17 and bronze for Bernie Monaghan (Dromara CC) 2:23:45.

Another gold medal going to Ballymena Road Club was the team prize which comprised of Eileen Burns, Stephen Workman and Jason Burns.

Tommy Givan 50 TT-50

With the Veteran category now split into Masters categories those over 40 years almost represented half of today's field. The Masters over 40's was won by Barry Hayes (Island Wheelers CC) in 1:51:14. Emmet Vallely (Square Wheels) took silver with a 1:53:29 and taking the bronze medal was John Rafferty (North Down CC) 1:55:12.

Amongst the Masters 50's entries toppling well known strongman of the event John Madden proved too tough a task. Brendan McCourt (Northern CC) took silver with a time of 1:58:02 and Martyn Jones, of the host club Maryland Wheelers, took the bronze medal in a personal best time of 2:00:03. In the Masters 60's category Gold went to Sean Hargan (Phoenix CC) in a great time of 1:54:58, silver to Dominic Drumm (Bann Wheelers) 1:58:26 and bronze to Harry Martin (Clann Eireann) 2:11:02

A special mention is given to Gordon Parker and Alicja Cernak the event timekeepers and Commissarie Martin Lees who assisted greatly in the smooth running of the event. On a personal note I would like to extend my thanks to the volunteers of Maryland without whom we would struggle to keep running the 50 mile TT and provide a safe passage for riders at the turns.

Tommy Givan 50m time trial competition.
Sean McIntyre 1:43.28
Colm Cassidy 1:44:33
John Madden 1:45:53
Mervyn Linton 1:51:14
1st woman Eileen Burns 1:54:34

Ulster 50m TT Championships
Senior Men
Sean McIntyre 1:43.28
Mervyn Linton 1:51:14
Stephen Workman 1:51:42

Senior Women
Eileen Burns 1:54:34
Lisa Cameron 2:15:42

Veteran Women
Judith Russell (Phoenix CC) 2:08:44
Joanne Regan (Termoneeny CC) 2:17:17
Bernie Monaghan (Dromara CC) 2:23:45

Masters 40's
Barry Hayes 1:51:42
Emmet Vallely 1:53:29
John Rafferty 1:55:12

Masters 50's
John Madden 1:45:53
Brendan McCourt 1:58:02
Martyn Jones 2:00:03

Masters 60's
Sean Hargan 1:54:58
Dominic Drumm 1:58:26
Harry Martin 2:11:02

Team Prize
Ballymena Road Club - Stephen Workman, Jason Burns and Eileen Burns

Tommy Givan 50 TT-39


Tommy Givan 50 TT-25

Tommy Givan 50 TT-18

Report by Mark Greer (Maryland Wheelers)

Posted by Martin Grimley (martin@ulsterxc.com)

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.