Ulster Cycling News

Damian Shaw Is National Champion

aMullingar man Damian Shaw (Team Asea) is the 2015 National champion after a dominant performance in the 105 mile race in Omagh, County Tyrone today.

Shaw attacked the silver medal winner Eddie Dunbar (NFTO) in the last few miles and soloed to the finish in Omagh town centre where a great crowd applauded a most deserving winner. Dunbar was one minute down at the finish line but the Cork teenager was also a winner as he took the under 23 gold medal. Connor Dunne (An Post-Chain Reaction) was also alone in third as was Belfast man Connor McConvey (3M) in fourth. There was an extra loud cheer for the fifth man home, local Omagh club rider Marc Potts, who sprinted in ahead of Mark Dowling (DID. Dunboyne).


The next finisher in 7th place was Limerick man Stephen Clancy (Novo Nordisk) who is a Type 1 diabetic. Ali Macauley (Team Asea), Daniel Stewart (Phoenix CC) and Sean Hehassey (Liquidworx Fitscience) completed the top ten. Stewart and Hehassey were silver and bronze medallists in the Under 23 category.

All the top ten finishers had been in the race winning breakaway of 14 riders which raced ahead of the 130 starters on lap 1 of the seven lap race.


A strong ten man chasing group which included Matt Brammeier(MTN Qhubeka) , Martyn Irvine (Madison Genisis), Angus Fyffe (Omagh Wheelers), Bryan McCrystal (Asea) and Paudi O’Brien (Osbourne Meats) had closed to 20 seconds at one stage but by mid distance the 14 leaders were 1 minute 40 seconds clear of the chasers.


On the final laps of the race the leading break split with the pressure of attacks from Connor Dunne (An Post) and Shaw (Asea). In the last five miles Shaw displayed the sheer strength that has made him in my opinion the best home based rider of the year. The wiry Dunbar had no reply to his final attack and Shaw raced ahead for a memorable victory. Shaws Asea team had four men in the break so it was a great day for the new team with the team gold also.


Other Ulster men to finish included Omaghs Angus Fyffe (14th), Martyn Irvine (15th), Roger Aiken 20th, David Watson 24th,

Glenn Kinning 27th, David Montgomery 28th, Marcus Christie 29th, Gareth McCullough 30th


The main organiser of the Championships, Stevie McKenna also completed the race in the main bunch. Stevie and the Omagh Wheelers club staged a superb event and deserve the highest of praise.


Report Brendan Kirk

Pics Bronagh Kirk

Full Results HERE











Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.