Ulster Cycling News

Three Masters Champions Crowned at Omagh

aThe National Road Race Championships got underway this morning in Omagh with the first of the Masters categories when the M50 and M60 riders took to the road in two championship events. This is the inaugural year of the Master's Championships and Omagh Wheelers, promoters of this year's events, certainly set a challenging course.

The riders had to complete three laps of a fifteen mile circuit which was far from flat. The course took the riders through the centre of the town each lap which also included a sharp up hill section over cobbles.


The M50 event saw some hard racing with a few riders trying to shake off the bunch at times. Declan Hanrahan of Carrick Wheelers was a prime mover here constantly attacking.


Others such as Eamon McConvey (XMTB McConvey Cycles) gave chase but made no headway.


John Madden (Dig Deep Coaching) opened up a gap on the main field but Hanrahan was on his wheel. The two got away but in the closing strait Hanrahan jumped clear and took the title. Madden had to be content with silver while Stephen Finnigan (Eire Og C.C.) took bronze.


In the M60 event there were a few early casulties with strong contender John Mulligan (Strule Wheelers) suffering  from broken handlebars effectively illiminating him from the race. Despite the rolly course the strong riders upped the pace.


A threesome comprising Mickey Carroll (Ballymena CRC), Sean McIlroy (Carrick Wheelers Cycling Club) and Kevin O'Leary (St. Finbarrs CC) who broke away and contested the sprint for the line. O'Leary won with Carroll in silver position and McIlroy in bronze. O'Leary was over whelmed at winning the title and said he had been waiting for thirty years to do so.


In the afternoon it was the turn of the very large field of M40 riders to vie for the National title. The pace in this race was much higher with lots of attacks going on.


John Heverin of Clann Eireann and Martin O'Loughlin (Carrick Wheelers) attacked early with two other riders and they managed to stay clear for a lap but the bunch was hungry and soon pulled them back.


In the end all was set for a bunch sprint. As the peloton rounded the last bend in to the finishing strait three riders broke clear and went for the win. Aidan Crowley (STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team) proved fastest on the day and lifted the champion's jersey while Craig Sweetman (Stamullen RC) and Ulster's Liam Curran (Curran Racing) in third position.


From some of the rider accounts last year's winner Keith Gater (Waterford Racing Club) was man of the race. He was highly praised by many riders for his attacking style and over all bike handling skills on the day. Unfortunately he got boxed in during the closing stages and did not get to contest the sprint.

Phoenix CC won the team prize so John Smyth, Cathal Smyth  and Brian Stewart recieve the gold medals

Many thanks to all concerned at Omagh for a fantastic day's racing


Report and Pics Marian Lamb

Results are provisional and the full Results will be made available when we get them.

National Championships 2015 M40 Results

  1. Aidan Crowley (STRATA3/VeloRevolution Racing Team)
  2. Craig Sweetman (Stamullen RC)
  3. Liam Curran (Curran Racing)


Team : Phoenix CC - John Smyth, Brian Stewart and Cathal Smyth

National Championships 2015 M50 Results

  1. Declan Hanrahan (Carrick Wheelers)
  2. John Madden (Dig Deeep Coaching)
  3. Stephen Finnigan (Eire Og C.C.)

Team : Phoenix CC - Peter Stewart, Gerard Maguire and Geoff Hewitt

National Championships 2015 M60 Results

  1. Kevin O'Leary (St. Finbarrs CC)
  2. Mickey Carroll (Ballymena CRC)
  3. Sean McIlroy (Carrick Wheelers Cycling Club)

Click HERE for M40 Results
Click HERE for M50 and M60 results



National Championships 2015 M50 Results

  1. Kevin O'Leary (St. Finbarr's CC)
  2. Mickey Carroll (Ballymena CRC)
  3. Sean McIlroy (Carrick Wheelers Cycling Club)








Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.