Ulster Cycling News

Competitive Road Events 1st – 5th July

Wednesday 1st July– Gareth Gallagher Memorial TT Series Round 3
This time trial series is promoted by Roe Valley CC. Sign-on at the Vale Centre in  Greysteele from 6.00pm with the first rider off at 7.00pm. A working rear red light is mandatory for this event. Contact Emma Scott on rvccsecretary@gmail.com for further details.

Saturday 4th July - JG Memorial - Cranford
The Annual JG Memorial Race will take place in Cranford on Saturday 4th July. The ‘JG’ is Donegal's longest established cycle race. This year it will be hosted by Rathmullan CC assisted by Dinny Doherty (Four Masters) and Carl Fullerton (North Pole). It takes place in Cranford, 25km north of Letterkenny on Saturday 4th July.

Cycle races have been held in Cranford for over 60 years. It is said to be the spiritual home of cycling in Donegal. In the early 80’s the Cranford Race was renamed as the JG in memory of two local athletes who had died tragically, one in a road accident the other in a drowning.The two lads John Giles and James Gallagher are now commemorated in this race which is hotly contested by riders from all over Ulster.

The 80k.A1/2/3 race will be over 2 laps of an undulating 40km course with lots of drags. There will also be an A4 race held over one lap (40k).
Sign-on from 11.00am with the A race starting at 1.00pm.
Entry €10. T-shirt and Tea afterwards.
Further details from Dinny Doherty (086-3251423), Carl Fullerton (086-8119966) or Daragh Kelly (086-8566393)
There will be 3 races starting at 1.00pm.
First race off will be for A1,A2 and A3 riders,including A3 Juniors.This race (80kms) will take in 2 laps of a 40km.course going to Milford,Kerrykeel,Rosnakill and crossing the Blaney bridge before reaching Cranford where there will be a prime on crossing the finish line for the first time at 40k.
The second race for those holding an A4 licence or a Rathmullan CC Limited Competition licence will be 40 kms.on the same course.

There will also be a separate Master's and Women's race on the same course so all women and masters of holding an M50 licence ot those in their fiftieth year with a Limited competition licence are welcome.

Sign-on at Logues Bar from 11.00am.
Both open races will be run under Cycling Ireland regulations and will carry points.

Sunday 5th July Tommy Givan 50/Ulster 50 Mile TT Championships
On Sunday 5th July Maryland Wheelers will promote the Tommy Givan 50/Ulster 50 Mile TT Championships on the Woodgreen circuit. Sign-on is from 8.00am with the first rider off at 9.00am. All riders and supporters must be aware that there is to be No Parking on the grass verges at the side of the dual carriageway. A working rear red light is mandatory for this event.

Event information:

The event is to be run on the Woodgreen course covering 3.5 laps of the course. Sign on is at the lay-by adjacent to Tannaghmore Service station on the A26 dual carriageway between Antrim to Ballymena. Riders can enter on the day of the eventSign-on opens at 8.00 and closes at 8.45 am. with the first rider off at 9.00am

Entry Fee

  • The entry fee is £5 or 5euros

Prize list

The winner will receive the Tommy Givan Memorial 50 mile TT cup and prizes will be awarded for the first 4 riders.

Ulster Championship medals will be awarded to the first three riders

Team medals will be awarded to the first three riders of the winning team

Prizes will be awarded after the race at the race assembly area adjacent to Tannaghmore Service station.

Friday 3rd July to Sunday 5th July - Newry Three Day
This is a pre-entry event which is now closed. The three day os one of most popular stage races in the country.

Newry Wheelers Host 28th Newry 3 Day Race

Newry Wheelers are delighted to promote the Annual xxx Newry Wheelers 3 Day race. The event will take place on the weekend of 3 – 5th of July.

The stage race is one of the most popular on the Irish cycling calendar and has attracted well over 80 riders. The race could easily have 150 riders but with PSNI rider restriction the bunch is capped at 80. The places filled up fast as riders are keen to compete to try and add their name to the list of previous winners which is no mean feat.

Stage 1

The racing kicks off on Friday 3rd July at 7pm in Warrenpoint when the riders will tackle the flat dual carriageway before hitting a stinger of a hill in the form of Greenan road before entering Warrenpoint again for 3 short laps. The Chain reaction point’s jersey is also up for grabs on this stage and one a lot of riders want, especially the sprinters. Finishing time approximately 8.15p.m/8.30pm.The 1 st stage is generously sponsored by Armatile.Soundfunction djs will also be at the finish to entertain the crowd as the riders tackle the laps of the warrenpoint circuit.

Stage 2 & 3

After the fast stage on Friday night the riders will head to the hills and take on the roads around Hilltown to test the riders climbing skills. This stage which is 65 miles in length is sponsored by Kelly building supplies and will go a long way in deciding the outcome of the yellow Spin 11 yellow jersey as well as PKF- FPM polka dot jersey for best climber. Elm Hall is the last big hill of the day before the bunch descends into Hilltown with the race finishing on the main street at approx 12.30.

Saturday afternoon sees the ‘Race of truth’ - The Time Trial,kindly sponsored by Cycling Ulster, when riders will test themselves against the clock. This will spilt the riders up and see them settle in their positions for the fight for overall glory. The Time trial takes place at 4pm from the Narrow Water Castle. This stage will also be a big factor in the destination of the blue U23 riders jersey kindly sponsored by Felix O’Hare building contractors

Stage 4

Sunday is the final day and perhaps the Queen stage sponsored by Haldane Fisher, usually the name given to the hardest stage of the race and longest and at 70 mile with 4 PKF-Fpm King of the hills included it will be tough. Last year Des Woods won the stage in horrendous conditions . The riders will start from Newry sports centre at 10.30 before heading to Bainbridge, Castlewellan, Rathfriland, Newry, Hilltown, Rathfriland and the finish in Newry at the Mot centre at 1.30 pm approx.

The Newry Wheelers have a strong team in the race with Des Woods and Mark Mc Kinley showing good form of late and previous winner Kevin Lynch will be bidding for glory.

The competition will be tough and especially from Jake Gray and Aaron Swan from the Nicholas Roche performance team and 2013 winner Derek Cunningham will want to do well also.

Drew Mc Kinley, Race Director commented; 'It is great to have the sponsors on board and thanked all of them as without their support there would be no race. Drew also mentioned while there are a few favourites it is so hard to predict a winner and that what makes this race so special within the cycling community.The list of past winners is impressive and its great to see last year's winner David Montgomery turn professional. It's a race every rider wants on their list of wins, He also praised the Newry Wheelers club members who give up their weekend to make the race run smoothly and as safely as possible.

For an updated list of riders ckick HERE

Marian Lamb


Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.