Ulster Cycling News

Irvine Takes Cicli Sport GP

Ards CC's Martyn Irvine ran out a worthy winner in today's Cicli Sport Grand Prix promoted by East Tyrone Cycling Club. The handicapped event saw the 90 plus field spilt into three groups separated by six minutes. A small group comprising East Antrim pair Jim McConnell and Gordon Scott along with Ernie Magwood (East Tyrone) and Laurence Diver (Bann Valley) made a valiant attempt to stay clear on the rolling Moneymore circuit but were reeled in by the scratch group in the final 15 miles.

Irvine won the uphill sprint edging out Paul Mulligan (Murphy and Gunn), Gordon Scott (East Antrim), Conor Murphy (Murphy and Gunn) and Jim McConnell (East Antrim). Northern's Frazer Duncan finished sixth some ten seconds later whilst Gary Cranston (East Antrim) led home the remainder of the chasers at 1-22. Laurence Diver (Bann Valley) picked up the best 3rd Category award with Ballymena's Conor McAllister winning the Junior prize.

In the separate women's race, which was the second round of the N.I. Women's League, Kay Hack (Bann Wheelers) was a clear winner finishing over a minute ahead of Edel Savage (Newry Wheelers) and Elaine Harte (Phoenix CC). Hanna Francis (Ards CC), Ciara McManus (U/A), Clara Cole-Hawthorne (Roe Valley), Sara Wilson (Ballymena R.C.) and Rachel Cole- Hawthorne (Roe Valley) completed the
top eight.

Once again we must thank the promoters and marshalls who did a fine job. Unfortunately a few riders came down although non seriously. Finbarr Cummins (Phoenix CC0 was perhaps the unluckiest of all with an elbow injury. After his accident last year he had made a fine recovery and always looked strong this year. Cycling Ulster wish him and the other riders a speedy recovery.

For pictures of today's race click the gallery link below

Report Tommy Lamb
Pics Marian Lamb
Cicli Sport Grand Prix 2006 - Moneymore

1. Martyn Irvine (Ards CC) 45 Miles 2-00-18
2. Paul Mulligan (Murphy & Gunn)
3. Gordon Scott (East Antrim)
4. Conor Murphy (Murphy & Gunn)
5. Jim McConnell (East Antrim) all ST
6. Frazer Duncan (Northern) @ 10 secs
7 Gary Cranston (East Antrim) @ 1-22
8. Paul Vaughan (Maryland)
9. Tommy Wilson (Ballymena R.C)
10. Lawrence Diver (Bann Valley) all ST

Northern Ireland Women's League Round 2 Moneymore
1.Kay Hack (Bann Wheelers)
2.Edel Savage (Newry Wheelers)
3.Elaine Harte (Phoenix CC)
4. Hanna Francis (Ards CC)
5.Ciara McManus (U/A),
6.Clara Cole-Hawthorne (Roe Valley),
7.Sara Wilson (Ballymena R.C.)
8.Rachel Cole- Hawthorne (Roe Valley)
9. Margaret Curran (Omagh Wheelers)

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.