Ulster Cycling News

Duncan Takes Redhand Trophy Again

aBangor man Fraser Duncan (Team Asea) won the prestigious Red Hand Trophy today in Broughshane County Antrim. Duncan, who won this race last year, was best in a four man sprint to the line, after the hilly 110 kilometre loop in the Glens of Antrim.Daniel Stewart (Phoenix CC) was second with Craig McAuley (Caldwell Cycles) third and Ali McAuley(Team Asea) fourth.

The leading four riders are all in good form just one week after they finished the 8 Day An Post Rás.Glen Kinning (Kinning Cycles) led in a chasing group of nine riders 44 seconds later for fifth place with another Rás finisher David Watson (North Down) 6th.

Earlier a full field of 80 starters left Ballymena and raced towards Ballycastle. At Clough a three man group containing John Madden (Dig Deep Coaching) Daniel Stewart (Phoenix CC) and Ali McAuley (Team Asea) raced ahead of the bunch. The three were still clear after the long climb to Ballypatrick forest (half distance) with the peleton split into several groups. At this stage Duncan was in a chasing group over a minute behind the leaders. After the descent to Cushendal, Duncan made his move along with Craig McAuley(Caldwell Cycles). They crossed to the three leaders and on the last climb after Carnlough Madden dropped back to the chase group to leave four ahead coming to the finish.

Duncan was delighted to win this historic trophy again and looks to be back to his best form after a slower start to his season this year. In 2014 he represented Northern Ireland at the Commonwealth Games after winning ten races in the first few months of the season.

Many thanks to commissaires on the day, Jack Watson and Jim Adams and to all those who put on such a magnificent spread of food.

The Ballymena club staged another first class promotion and the racing was made safe with the great work of PSNI motorbike escorts.


Report by Brenadan Kirk

Results Andy Wills

More pics to follow

Redhand Trophy 2015 Results

1                   Fraser Duncan         ASEA                                                                     02:27:54

2                   Daniel Stewart        Phoenix CC                                                        "

3                   Craig McAuley         Caldwell Cycles                                                 "

4                   Allie McAuley          ASEA                                                                     "

5                   Glen Kinning            Kinng Cycles                                                      02:28:38

6                   David Watson          NDCC                                                                    02:28:39

7                   Jake Grey                  NRPT                                                                    "

8                   Marc Heaney           Carn                                                                      "

9                   Angus Fyffe              Omagh                                                                 "

10                 Darnell Moore         Caldwell Cycles                                                 "

11                 John Madden          Inspired Cycling                                                "

12                 Ryan Reilly                AC Bisontone                                                    "

13                 Derek Finnegan      Keevan CC                                                          "

14                 Craig Rea                   Phoenix CC                                                        2:30:.04

15                 Matthew Brennan Ballymena Road Club Chain Reaction      "

16                 Fergus Rooney        Phoenix CC                                                        02:30:06

17                 Sean McIntrye        Caldwell Cycles                                                 "

18                 Paul McCarter         Donegal Bay                                                      "

19                 Aaron McGrady      Phoenix CC                                                        2:31.:52

20                 James Ambrose      NDCC                                                                    2:31.:54

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.