Ulster Cycling News

Ulster Team For Scottish Youth Tour Announced

aThe Cycling Ulster Youth Academy has announced its team for the Youth Tour of Scotland which takes place in Perth at Easter.

There were two selection events held in recent weeks to help decide the team. These were  a road race which was part of the North West Youth League organised by Errigal CC, Donegal Bay and Omagh Wheelers and a time trial on St Patrick's Day organised by Maryland Wheelers and the David McCall Foundation.

A large number of riders travelled to Dore in Co Donegal to participate in the races. There was an excellent turn-out for the U16 race which showed the interest in being considered for selection.

This event was won in style by Adam Ward of Omagh Wheelers in atrocious weather conditions.


The second event was a time trial held in Crumlin by Maryland Wheelers and the David McCall Foundation. Unattached rider Xeno Young showed his mettle on this one recording a 15.35 for the circuit of almost ten miles. Adam Ward was second with a 15.40 with Liam Wilson of Derrymore next with a 15.42.


Following consultation the Youth Academy selected Adam Ward (Omagh Wheelers), Anthony Bradley (Sperrin Wheelers), Liam Wilson (Derrymore CC) and Xeno Young (U/A) to represent Ulster at the prestigious Youth Tour.


Phil Holland (David McCall Foundation) and Brian McComb (Academy Coach) will manage the team in Scotland. The full team will be fully funded by Cycling Ulster.


These will not be the only Ulster riders travelling to Scotland that week as a number of young Ulster riders will also be taking part in the competiton as part of the Talent 2020 team. The girls team will include local riders Amanda Gallagher (Errigal CC), Shauna McFadden (Errigal CC), and Molly McLarnon (North Down).  Orla Desmond (Galtee Wheelers) will complete the girls team.


For the boys team it will be Harvey Barnes (East Tyrone) and Conor Halvey (Errigal CC) from Ulster who will be joined by Tom Knight (Team iBike) and Luke Smith (Moynalty Skyway)


The Cycling Ulster Executive would like to wish all the young Irish riders good luck in the competion.


The results of the St Patrick's Day Time Trial can be viewed below. Many thanks to Gordon Parker for the results.

Report and Pics by Marian Lamb

St Patrick's Day Youth TT
Placing Forename Surname Club Time
1 Xeno Young U/A 15:35
2 Adam Ward Omagh Wheelers 15:40
3 Liam Wilson Derrymore CC 15:42
4 Anthony Bradley Sperrin Wheelers 15:50
5 Ethan Fleville Clann Eireann CC 16:09
6 Niall Lawrence Bann Valley CC 16:43
7 Adam Duff XMTB McConvey Cycles 16:58
8 Conor Gormley Omagh Wheelers 17:04
9 Brendan Flanagan Balllymoney CC 17:17
10 Shay Donley Balllymoney CC 17:26
11 Matthew McAllister Island Wheelers 17:36
12 Ciaran Cahoon Clann Eireann CC 17:59
13 Ronan McGale Omagh Wheelers 18:05
14 Cathir Doyle Carn Wheelers 18:15
15 Craig McCarthy XMTB McConvey Cycles 18:22
16 Nathan Grey Omagh Wheelers 18:31
17 Ryan Kelly Omagh Wheelers 18:56
18 Ciaran Dixon Phoenix CC 19:18
19 Sarah Elder Carn Wheelers 21:24
20 Christopher Neill Shimna Wheelers 21:30
21 Emma Elder Carn Wheelers 23:00



Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.