Ulster Cycling News

Hawkins Triumphs at National Crit Champs

phawkinsTwenty eight year old Peter Hawkins from Belfast who rides for the professional Madison Genesis team stormed to victory at Mondello Park last week and took the national Criterium Championship in style. He rode a very good race although he was challenged throughout by Damian Shaw of the Aqua Blue outfit, Paul Kennedy of Velo Revolution and Robin Kelly of Aqua Blue.

Last year's Winner Paidi O'Brien was also a man to watch out for as he would have likedĀ  to retain his championship jersey.

However Hawkins kept his cool and managed to win the event by a clear margin. He is a well known criterium rider both here and in Britain.


He has won several Ulster Criterium Championships and would be a regular competitor in the such events as the Crit in the Park organised by Phoenix CC and the Ards CC town centre races. He is also a frequent competitor in the Halford crit series in Britain.

Hawkins won the National title in 2008 and is delighted to get the title back. Cycling Ulster would like to congratulate Peter on his achievement.

Shaw lifted the silver medal while Kennedy took bronze. Aqua Blue lifted the team prize.

President of Cycling Ireland, Denis Toomey, was on hand to present the medals to the winners.



Report Marian Lamb

Results Gary McIlroy

Pics Toby Watson


National Criterium Championship, Mondelo, Co. Kildare
Distance : 48km Average Speed: 42.03kph
Pos Name Club Category Time
1 Peter Hawkins Madison Genesis A+ 01:08:31
2 Damien Shaw Aqua Blue A1 st
3 Paul Kennedy Velo Revolution A1 @2"
4 Robin Kelly Aqua Blue A1 st
5 Javan Nulty DID Dunboyne A1 st
6 Joe Fenlon Aqua Blue A1 st
7 Hugh Mulhearn Iverk Produce Carrick A1 st
8 Paidi O Brien Osbourne Meats/The Edge A1 st
9 Colm Cassidy UCD A1 st
10 Simon Ryan Adamstown A1 st
11 Michael Hennessy Fermoy CC A1 @4"
12 Sean McKenna UCD A1 st
13 Ian Richardson UCD A1 st
14 Gary Sheehan Cycle 4 Sick Children A2 st 1st Unplaced A2
15 Dave Reilly South DublinCC A2 st 2nd Unplaced A2
16 Barry Meade Unattached A1 st
17 John Lynch Murphy Surveys A1 st
18 Derek Cunningham Bikeworx A1 st
19 Stephen Halpin Bikeworx A1 @7"
20 Anthony Doyle Velo Revolution A1 st
21 Mark Dowling DID Dunboyne A1 st
22 Keith Hughes Bikeworx A2 st 3rd Unplaced A2
23 Fergus Whelan Adamstown A3 st 1st Unplaced A3
24 Danny Bruton AC Bisontine A1 st
25 Martin Cashman Osbourne Meats/The Edge A1 st
26 Justin McGee South Dublin CC A3 st 2nd Unplaced A3
27 Sean Reynolds Bikeworx A2 st
28 Murt Rice Sundrive Track A2 @13"
29 Mark Reilly Lucan CRC A1 st
30 Eugene Murtagh Lucan CRC A1 @16"
31 Aidan Reade Black Rose Racing A3 +1Lap 3rd Unplaced A3
Team Prize: Aqua Bue Damien Shaw
Robin Kelly
Joe Fenlon
Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.