Ulster Cycling News

Festival Of Racing In Ormeau Park.

Phoenix CC organised their second race of the week on Friday night.  The Crit in the Park event in Ormeau Park in Belfast followed on from the Bobby Crillly Classic last weekend.  The weather was kind and the evening started with the young riders taking to the circuit for the U10 fun race.  Many young riders took part with a variety of ages involved but all had a good time and enjoyed being cheered on by the crowds.

Next saw the U12 riders line up for four laps of the course.  The racing was fast and furious from the start but for the most part the riders kept in close quarters and on the line it was Odhran Doogan of Errigal CC who took the win.  Ellie Kelso took the prize for first girl.

U 12 -Boys

  1.  Odhran Doogan
  2. Ciaran Dixon
  3. David Walsh

U 12 - Girls

  1.  Ellie Kelso
  2. Sara Elder
  3. Emma Elder

Next up was the U14 race which was another hard fought affair, but again it came down to a sprint finish.  Conor Halvey showed his strength to take the win on the line with Shauna McFadden taking the girl’s prize.

U14 - Boys

  1.  Conor Halvey
  2. PJ Doogan
  3. Shea Donnelly
  4. Ronan McGale
  5. Rider No. 80
  6. Michael McGlyn

U14 - Girls

Shauna McFadden

Unfortunately in the closing stages of the U14 race Brendan Flanagan, who was riding his first race, came down in a nasty fall and was taken to hospital.  I’m sure everyone in Cycling Ulster will join me in wishing Brendan well in his recovery and we look forward to seeing him back on his bike soon.

The start of the U16 race was delayed for quite a while in order to make way for the ambulance but when the action started the riders didn’t disappoint.  But for the third race of the evening, despite many efforts to split the race, it came down to a bunch sprint and it was Connor McCann who took the win after already showing his sprinting strength by taking the prime at the half way point.  Ciara Doogan showed her strength by taking the girl’s prize and finishing in the bunch with the lead boys.



  1.   Connor McCann
  2. Rider No. 39
  3. Harvey Barnes
  4. Mark Heaney
  5. Ciaran McFadden
  6. Paul Kelly


  1.  Ciara Doogan
  2. Molly McLarnon

If anyone can identify the missing riders please post below and we can fill in the blanks, thanks.

The following report on the senior racing is by event organiser Johnny Bouges.

The delay meant that we had to condense the rest of our evening into 2 main senior races :-

A4, Club riders, & women's race went off at 8pm for 30 mins of pain - we ran the race with 2 prime laps to ensure some good attacking racing but despite a couple of attempts, everything came back together for the final lap - and it was here that the cream really came to the top with Mark Short (Phoenix) showing everyone a clean pair of wheels to take a fine win. 2nd was Colin McCloskey (Apollo CC) with Mark Farrrell (NDCC) in 3rd.

U16 Errigal CC rider Ciara Doogan rode this race after she'd just completed the U16 and finishing respectably up in the bunch in both - v impressive and one to watch - but because she'd already lifted the u16 girls prize, the Ladies prize went to Judith Russell (Phoenix CC) and the prime prizes went to Paul Trainor (Phoenix) and Mark Short

A1/A2 & A3 riders went off with a 30 sec handicap, for 35 mins and again with 2 prime laps - the big hitters soon made short work of the gap and closed it within 2 laps to set up some great fast paced racing for the rest - quite a few guys had a dig with David Hamilton, Jake Grey, Brian Stewart, Glenn Kinning & Jude Sands all featuring prominently but all of them were brought back by the fast moving bunch. The winning move went about 3/4 of the way through with Mike Millar & David Hamilton moving ahead by about 10 secs., closely followed by Cathal Smith and Jude Sands who in turn had about 5 secs on the bunch heading into the last lap. And so it held with Mike taking a great win over David, and Cathal coming in 3rd, with Jude in 4th. The bunch were lead in about 5 secs later by Brian Stewart proving the fastest

Prize for the first unplaced A2 went to Jude Sands and first placed A3 was Kieth Hooks NDCC
Our 2 prime prizes went to John McGlaughlin & Jake Grey.

Many thanks to our Comm Aidan Higgins, Joan our first aid for her invaluable help, McConvey Cycles for their sponsorship of the event and providing the prizes, Anthony Conway and his staff at Ormeau Park for setting out our course, BCC for providing us with an excellent location for our races and supplying the safety barriers and lastly to all our riders who turned up tonight, especially for your patience and understanding following our unfortunate incident.



Comments (1) Trackbacks (0)
  1. Marion me again Conor Halvey 1st in u14 race he is winning all before him this year enjoy your next 2 months in France you both deserve the break.!!!

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.