Ulster Cycling News

Sunshine at the Noel Teggart Road Race

The ever popular Noel Teggart Memorial Road Race took place on Sunday 22 June 2014 hosted by Banbridge CC and sponsored by O’Hagan Tyres of Laurencetown. It was a glorious day with wall-to-wall sunshine much to the delight of riders, spectators and race organisers. A full programme of races catered for all of the senior and youth categories (Under 16s, Under 14s and Under 12s) with Juniors riding with the A3s as usual. In the feature race of the afternoon for A1s and A2s a four man break comprising Sean McKenna (UCD), Alex Donald (Phoenix), Paul Mulligan (Caldwell Cycles) and Sean McIntyre (Orchard/ Shelbourne) was established early on and was able to withstand the efforts of the chasing group right to the end with the UCD man taking a well deserved win.

In the main the event passed off without serious incidents and everyone was provided with the usual refreshments afterwards. Unfortunately some adverse comments from members of the public have appeared locally regarding riders crossing the white line with vehicles approaching in the opposite direction. Guilty riders know who they are!

Full results are as follows:
Race 1 (A1 / A2’s)
1. Sean McKenna – UCD (A1)
2. Paul Mulligan – Caldwell Cycles (A1)
3. Alex Donald – Phoenix CC (A1)
4. Sean McIntyre – Orchard CC/Shelbourne Motors (A1)
5. Conor Murphy – Caldwell Cycles (A1)
6. Greg Swinard – UCD (A1)
7. Darnell Moore – Caldwell Cycles (Jr)
8. Craig Sweetman – Stamullen  M.Donnelly (A1)
9. David Hamilton – Curran Racing(A1)
10. Joe Breheny – UCD (A2)

Race 2 (A3’s)
1. Ryan Orr – Ballymoney CC (Jr)
2. Finton Ryan – NRPT Standard Life (Jr)
3. Cathal Calrke – Newry Wheelers (Jr)
4. Rory Maguire – Phoenix (Jr)
5. Alan Hall – TVR (A3)
6. Andrew McGibbon – Apollo RT (A3)
7. Aaron Swan - NRPT Standard Life (Jr)
8. Paul Quinn – Island Wheelers (A3)
9. Morris Ruddock – Phoenix CC (A3)
10. Peter Morrison – Northern CC / Dave Kane Cycles (A3)

Race 3 (A4’s)
1. Stuart Campbell – Maryland CC
2. Paul Kirk – North Down CC
3. Gareth Morton – Cuchulainn CC
4. Kevin Wilson – Banbridge CC
5. Richard Sands – TVR
6. Damian Dougan – Chain Reaction Cycles
7. Kenny Bagnall – Newry Wheelers
8. Ian Cochrane – Banbridge CC

Youth – U16’s
1. Jake Gray – East Tyrone CC
2. Connor McCann – Dig Deep Coaching / Inspired Cycling
3. Liam Wilson – Clann Eireann CC

Youth – U14’s
1. PJ Doogan – Errigal CC
2. Harry Dow
3. Ronan McCann

Youth – U12’s
1. Odhran Doogan – Errigal CC
2. Donal Walsh – Errigal CC
3. Cathal Gallagher – Errigal CC

Report by Paul McGuckin, Press Officer, Banbridge CC

Posted by Martin Grimley (martin@ulsterxc.com)

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.