Ulster Cycling News

Ards Town Centre Races Report

Andrew McCullough (Kinning Cycles) was a worthy winner of the main A1/2/3/Jun race at the Ards Town Centre Races on Wednesday evening. The  race was run as a short handicap, with the A1/2s giving away 40 seconds to the A3/Juniors.

The attacks starting immediately, with junior rider Evan Donoghue from Letterkenny holding a small advantage for couple of laps. He was soon replaced at the front by Andrew McCullough. Behind, the A1/2s had caught the main bunch, and the counter attacks came thick and fast. It was Glen Kinning (also from Kinning Cycles) who eventually managed to escape the bunch, but Andrew managed to hold on for the win. U16 rider Jake Gray (East Tyrone CC) took the bunch sprint for third. Ards rider Paul McMinn rode strongly to finish in the depleted bunch.

Earlier in the evening, the combined A4/Vet/Women's race was won by Ronnie Smyth (Dromara) in a bunch sprint from Mark Short (Phoenix) and Colin McClarnon (North Down CC). Commonwealth Games selected rider Clare Oakley finished comfortably in the bunch with the men to take first woman.

Ards rider Steve L rode strongly, regularly driving the bunch along.The A4/Vet/Ladies riders attack at the Old Cross corner

There was also a full programme of Youth races.
In the U16 race, Harvey Barnes (East Tyrone CC) took the win from Will Hamilton (North Down CC) and his team mate Jake Gray. Jake was given special permission by Cycling Ireland to ride the main senior event, and took third there too, which gives you some idea of the standard of these young riders!The U16 podium, with club secretary Lindsay Gamble
In the U14 race, it was Errigal CC who dominated, with Conor Halvey  taking the win from team mate PJ Doogan and Harry Dow (North Down CC)The U14 podium, with Irish inter national mechanic Lindsay Gamble
The U12 podium
Errigal also took victory in the U12 race with Odhran Doogan winning from Darren Rafferty (Island Wheelers) and Ciaran Dixon (Phoenix).
Finally, there was the highlight of the night for many – the novices race. This year riders varied in age from 3(!) up to 13. The organisers applied a very rough handicap based on age, and Adam Rafferty emerged as the winner, from Neil Kelso and Finlay Mayne.

Finally, thanks to all the people who made this great event possible – the police for closing the roads and helping to get cars off the course, the first aiders, the commissaire Jack Watson, the club committee and club members for all their work in advance and on the night, the riders and supporters (many of whom had travelled a long way).

Report Alastair Irvine
Pics By David McVeigh HERE

Pics By Bronagh Kirk HERE
The full novice result is included below (as best as we could judge on the night)

Place No. Name Age
1 62 Adam Rafferty 8
2 70 Neil Kelso 9
3 68 Finlay Mayne 6
4 74 Fin Hackett 10
5 60 Tom Rooney 13
6 138 Clodagh O’Neill 10
7 69 Rudy Mayne 8
8 64 Evie Martin 6
9 72 Tom Martin 10
10 76 Zoe Sloan 11
11 61 Josh McReynolds 8
12 63 Emma Martin 9
13 75 Adam Sloan 9
14 66 Ben McDowell 4
15 65 John McDowell 5
16 77 Bradley Kinning 3 Judging is a serious business Paul….Bradley Kinning (3) still looking good after 2km

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.