Ulster Cycling News

Moore Triumphs in Derry

crit1Despite the poor weather at the start of the evening, the Quayside Maiden City Criterium was a great success, when it returned to the centre of Derry on Tuesday night.

Foyle Cycling Club hosted two races, one A4 and a second A1/2/3, which allowed spectators to enjoy the thrill of high speed city centre cycling. A full entry of over 55 cyclists took to the streets to test their mettle against this demanding course.

Shipquay Street proved to be a favoured viewing spot again this year with the large crowds that gathered to watch the cyclists charge up this iconic climb.

In the A4 race Foyle CC's Simon Gill was in great form on the night and pulled clear from the following pack and led from an early stage. Picking his way carefully on the technical descents on Linenhall Street, Gill maintained his composure despite facing a strong challenge from Eugene McBride of Errigal CC and fellow club mate Jim Doyle also of Foyle CC.


In the A1/2/3 race Darnell Moore of Caldwell RT was in scintillating form. This young talent from Omagh blasted the race apart, winning by a clear margin, and talking a superb first place and three of the intermediate primes as well.


Race organiser Gavin Campbell congratulated all those who took part on a magnificent effort. He also paid tribute to the many club members who came out in large numbers to marshal and assist in crowd control. Gavin also said that the club was very grateful to the lead sponsor Quayside Shopping centre, and to Derry City Council, Sustrans and Austins who all supported the race.

Mike Millar of Phoenix CC who travelled from Belfast, and who took 4th place in the A1/2/3 race said

"I was here last year and will be back again next year. It is one of the best races in Ireland" he said.


A4 result
Two Prime lap winners, Killen Grant Caldwell Racing Team and Simon Gill Foyle CC.

A4 Race result

  1. Simon Gill FoyleCC
  2. Eugene McBride ErrigleCC
  3. Jim Doyle FoyleCC

1st A4 Unplaced local Rider
Billy Evans

The A1/2/3 Race

  1.   Darnell Moore Caldwell RT
  2. Aaron Swan Nicolas Roche RT
  3. Angus Fyffe Omagh Wheelers
  4. Mike Millar Phoenix CC
  5. Evan Donaghue Four Masters CC

Prime Laps

Aaron Swan x 1 and Darnell Moore x 3

Report Gavin Campbell

Pics by Peter McLaughlin

Posted by Marian Lamb

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.