Ulster Cycling News

Commonwealth Games Selection

The final selection for the Commonwealth Games squad has been chosen and I am delighted to introduce the line up for cycling for Glasgow 2014. A lot of hard work has gone into getting cycling places for the games and it is brilliant to know we are getting 14 places as well as three coaches the most that the sport has ever had.

It is also important to remember those that were not selected as some riders were involved in every camp right from the start. Being a part of the selection process included being involved in some incredibly tough decisions that had to made and I wish every rider who didn't make it on this occasion every success in their careers.

I would also like to thank every member of the selection panel as well as the appeals panel who were there if needed. It's encouraging to know people are willing to give up their free time to be involved in the sport of cycling.

Glasgow 2014 line-up

Martyn Irvine
Lydia Boylan
James Brown and Dave Readle

Time Trial
Marcus Christie
Michael Hutchinson
Wendy Houvenaghel

Mountain Bike
Roger Aiken
Claire Oakley

Road - Male
Martyn Irvine
Philip Lavery
Fraser Duncan
Sean Downey
Peter Hawkins
Connor McConvey

Ryan Connor
Gary McKeegan
Brian Nugent

Report by Ryan Connor
Posted by Martin Grimley

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.