Ulster Cycling News

Mulholland and Lennon Show Sprinting Ability at Hugo Loughran

Friday evening saw Island Wheelers host the popular Hugo Loughran GP with two races being run simultaneously for A3 and A4 riders. Both races were sold out in advance and with the spring weather calm and warm a full field of riders showed up and enjoyed a great evening's racing.

The A4 race was run over 5 Laps each of 7.2 mile circuit on a relatively flat circuit and with only one small climb at the finish line. It was always going to be a difficult evening for an escape to get away and so a bunch sprint was inevitable. Coming into the last lap the pace was ferocious as
riders vied to get the perfect position for the sprint. Phoenix CC's Gregory Lennon came out a worthy winner over Jason McIntyre Bann Wheelers and Aaron Parks of Orchard CC. The remaining prizes were filled by promoting Club

A4 finish

Island Wheelers Dean Burnside in 4th, Ryan Jamison Causeway CC and Oliver Donnelly of Harps CC. Points were also on offer for the 7th and 8th placed riders and these slots were filled by David McFall of Omagh Wheelers and Philip McCoubrey of Clougher Valley respectively.

The A3 race was started a few minutes before the A4 race as the riders had to complete an extra lap of the 7.2 mile circuit. With 6 laps to complete there were a few breakaway attempts and in lap 3 a group managed to get a small gap of 15 seconds. This break was not to last and was brought back
before the bunch made it round to the finish line with 2 laps to go. The race was to stick together to the finish line were junior rider Declan Mulholland of Clann Eireann would once again prove to be too strong in the sprint for his A3 opponents although this was a very tight finish in which he just pipped North Down CC's Barry Hamilton to the line. Gary Donaldson of Omagh Wheelers took third place from Richard Archer of East Tyrone followed by Donal Burns of Strabane Lifford CC. David Neill of Orchard CC claimed the last of the prizes with a very impressive 6th place. As with the A4 race there were points available for 7th & 8th and these went to Colm McGarvey of Epic MTB/Giant and Declan McKenna of Emyvale.

A3 finish
Island wheelers would like to thank all of those who participated in this great event which is run in the memory of our past president the late Hugo Loughran and we were very proud to have his daughter Paula McGurk present the prizes on the night.

We would also like to express our gratitude to the PSNI out riders who done a phenomenal job in ensuring that our race was run in a safe environment. They were backed up once again by our marshalls and club members who were fantastic as always. Special thanks must go to Kim Armstrong for providing the soup at the finish and to Supervalu Coalisland who donated the bread rolls that accompanied it.

Thanks also to Garry Nugent chief judge and Peter Fields who was commisaire on the evening. Finally we would like to thank Derry's Ltd of Annaghmore who provided the venue and car park that allowed us to run this race.

Report by Robbie Silcock

Pics Raffoto.com

Bronagh Kirk was also there with her trust camera and her pics of the event can be viewed  HERE

A4 Race Results

1st Gregory Lennon Phoenix CC
2nd Jason McIntyre Bann Wheelers
3rd Aaron Parks Orchard CC
4th Dean Burnside Island Wheelers
5th Ryan Jamison Causeway CC
6th Oliver Donnelly Harps CC
7th David McFall Omagh Wheelers
8th Philip McCoubrey Clougher Valley Wheelers

A3 Race Results

1st Declan Mulholland Clann Eireann
2nd Barry Hamilton North Down CC
3rd Gary Donaldson Omagh Wheelers
4th Richard Archer East Tyrone CC
5th Donal Burns Strabane Lifford CC
6th David Neill Orchard CC
7th Colm McGarvey Epic MTB/Giant
8th Declan McKenna Emyvale CC

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.