Ulster Cycling News

Commonwealth Games Update

2013 has seen Northern Ireland riders really embrace the challenge of reaching the nomination standard for the Commonwealth Games. Peter Hawkins has joined the list of those that have met the standard bringing the total to 14 riders. With a potential 8 places available competition will be fierce moving into 2014.

There has been a slight change to the nomination criteria, namely the closing date has been confirmed as 26th May at midday. An email explaining this has been sent out to all those that expressed an interest in the games. If anyone has not received the email please contact me asap at Ryan Connor at ryancyclingulster@hotmail.co.uk. An appeals process has been drafted is available online HERE or via myself. To view the Nomination Criteria click HERE

Moving into 2014 a training camp has been organised and will take place early February in Scotland where we will use the opportunity to get a look at the different venues and various training roads. The 14 riders who have met the nomination so far have been invited.

As we begin the Commonwealth Games Year the 14 riders who have met the nomination standard so far are:

Martyn Irvine
Ian Inglis
Lydia Boylan

Time Trial
Michael Hutchinson
Marcus Christie
Wendy Houvenaghel

Mountain Bike
Roger Aiken
Gareth McKee
Claire Oakley

Phil Lavery
Connor McConvey
Sean Downey
Jack Wilson
Peter Hawkins

I would also like to take this chance to thank the committee who have helped me out so far this year, namely: Anthony Mitchell, Lance McCarthy, Gary McKeegan, Stevie McKenna and Tommy Lamb.

I'd also like to wish everyone a Happy New Year and a hugely successful 2014

Ryan Connor

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.