Ulster Cycling News

Connor Wins Cycling Ulster 10 Championship

With top seeds David McCann and Tommy Evans competing in the international Tour of Britain it was Ballymena’s Ryan Connor who won the Cycling Ulster 10 Mile Time Trial Championship at Ballyclare tonight. His winning time of 20-43 was just 12 seconds faster than silver medallist Simon Thompson (Maryland) while Aaron Deane of Total Cycling took the bronze with a 21-16.
In the womens event Northern CC’s Lisa Rodgers came out on top holding of the challenges of Coleraine’s Cathy Hack and Lurgan’s Erin Turkington with a winning time of 25-19. Clann Eirean’s Michael Murray lifted gold in the Junior category and also managed a magnificent 10th place in the overall race
Sean Hargan (Total Cycling) was a worthy victor in the Veteran’s event scoring a victory over TT specialist Jim McConnell (East Antrim). Brendan Graham, who recently competed in the World Masters Championship in Austria was third.

The Ulster Track championships will be held tomorrow at Orangefield Park commencing at 11 am. There will be racing for all categories including youth, women, seniors and veterans. Chairman of Cycling Ulster’s Track Commission Brian Nugent is confident of a good turn-out and stressed that the event will be open to members of both CU and the NICF.

Cycling Ulster 10 Mile TT Championship

Ryan Connor Ballymena 20.43
Simon Thompson Maryland 20.55
Aaron Deane Total Cycling 21.16
Stuart Bennett Phoenix 21.20
Sean Hargan Total Cycling 21.51
Mike McLoone Total Cycling 22.01
Jim McConnell East Antrim 22.05
Stephen Lindsay West Down 22.24
Martyn Irvine Ards 22.32
Michael Murray Clann Eireann 22.47
David Heagney Classic Walls 22.54
Brendan Graham Total Cycling 22.59
Cathal Hendron Apollo 23.00
Brendan McCourt Phoenix 23.03
Geoff Warke Bann Wheelers 23.23
Mert Thompson Phoenix 23.26
Mark Watson Ards 23.32
Ronan McLaughlin Foyle CC 23.35
John Rooney Phoenix 23.38
Stephen McDonald Phoenix 23.42
Brendan Ellis Phoenix 23.44
James McClean Old Bleach 23.48
Davy Quinn Apollo 24.16
Adrian Kerr Ballymena R.C. 24.28
Brendan McCartan Phoenix 24.43
Kieran O'Doherty U/A 24.45
Warren Francis Ards 25.10
Lisa Rodgers Northern 25.19
Bryan Monson Castlereagh 25.19
Ray Young Phoenix 25.37
Harry Martin Clann Eireann 26.00
Colin Wilson Ards 26.03
Michael Clements Team Madigan 26.10
Cathy Hack Bann Wheelers 26.15
John McAuley Apollo 26.19
Gerry Scullion Bann Valley 26.23
Alan Rodgers Northern 26.30
Sammy Connor Ballymena 26.31
Erin Turkington Clann Eireann 27.25

July and August result sheets should appear soon on the TT Link

Tommy Lamb

Pic by Jim Lavery

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.