Ulster Cycling News

Irvine wins Points Race in First World Cup of the 2014 Season

martyn_irvine-1Scratch World Champion, Martyn Irvine has won the Points Race at the World Cup in Manchester. Irvine qualified for the Final earlier today, and conserved his energy for the first half of the stage, before storming to victory with a 3 point lead over second placed Lasse Norman Hansen. Italy’s Elia Viviani (ITA) took the Bronze.

The 120 Points Race is an event where riders start in a bunch, and sprint for intervals throughout the race. With just over 30 laps to go Irvine made his move, and took the remainder of the points, with the final verdict decided on the line.

Speaking after the race Irvine said “That was a nice evening, the win changed the day around. I rode smart for the first half of the race, I didn’t want to race too much, but then I started to use my head. I looked around and other guys were grimacing more than me. I rolled off the front and got in the groove. A Spanish guy came across to me and we committed. It was all or nothing.”


Irvine, who won the World Championships in the Scratch Race last March, fractured his hip soon after returning to road racing. Speaking at the track Irvine said “I must have done something right in rehab, looks like I need to break a leg to get good results!”

Head Coach Brian Nugent was delighted with Irvine’s performance “it was brilliant. He only won it on the last lap. Fantastic! It came down to the very last sprint. Everyone was trying to get to Martyn, but he was too strong. That was the best race of the competition so far!”

Earlier on today Caroline Ryan finished 5th in the Individual Pursuit, and Eoin Mullen made the Repechage in the Men’s Keirin. Irvine also competed in the Individual Pursuit, where he finished in 7th place. Next up for the Irish is the Scratch Race with Ryan and Irvine competing, and the Eoin Mullen in the Men’s Sprint. The World Cup runs from the 1st – 3rd November in Manchester, UK.

Men’s Point Race
1.       Martyn Irvine (Ireland) 20 points
2.       Lasse Norman Hansen (Denmark) 17 points
3.       Elia Viviani (Italy) 13 points

Women’s Individual Pursuit
1.       Joanna Roswell (GB)
2.       Rebecca Wiasak (AUS)
3.       Kate Archibald (SCB)
5th Caroline Ryan (IRL)

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.