Ulster Cycling News

Cycling Ireland AGM this Saturday + Records Approved

The Cycling Ireland Annual General Meeting will take place on 26th October 2013, at 11am, at the Four Seasons Hotel, Monaghan Town. Delegates are requested to arrive prior to 1045 in order to facilitate a timely start to the AGM. Since it is Ulster's turn to host the AGM we would encourage clubs to send representatives to this meeting.

There wil be an election to select the new President of Cycling Ireland as out-going President Rory Wyley has decided not to stand for re-election, The current nominees for the position are Denis Toomey and Ciaran McKenna.

Following the business of the AGM there will be an open discussion forum,

Discussion Forum
Following the close of the AGM there will be activities update from staff and a discussion forum in order to help shape the incoming Board’s view. The topics covered will be:

a. Coaching and Education update presented by Ms. R. Ormrod;
b. HP update presented by Mr. B. Nugent;
c. Safety proposals by Mrs. M. Lamb;
d. Review of company articles presented by Mr. Rory Wyley;
e. Future of Commissions presented by Mr. Geoff Liffey.

The AGM papers may be downloaded by clicking the following link. Cycling Ireland AGM Manual 2013
For those interested in the promotion of youth cycling there is some good reading in Rachel Omrod's report.

Board Update October 2013 - National Records Approved

The Board of Cycling Ireland at it’s recent meeting had the pleasure of approving the following National Records. The Board was pleased as these were in respect of both male and female juniors and the first women’s Place to Place record for some years.

7th Aug. 13   4000 mts Jnr  MenTT      Mark Downey      Team Ireland      4:23.010  (new record)

Matthew Doyle, Thomas Fallon, Dylan Foley

8th Aug13  500 mts Jnr Women SS TT  Rachel Mellor  Team Ireland   41.687   (previous 41.92)

25th Aug 13   Derry / Belfast  Women     Tonya Moran  Black Rose  3.11.35    (standard 3:48:00)

18th Aug.13   10 mls Junior Women TT   Laura Maxwell Roe Valley     23:00   (standard 24:00)

Jack Watson
Hon. Sec. Cycling Ireland

Marian Lamb

Comments (0) Trackbacks (0)

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Trackbacks are disabled.